We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“will go back”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Magnolia Hotel St. Louis
Ranked #12 of 123 Hotels in Saint Louis
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 2, 2014

Excellent! Every staff member was more than helpful. Most attentive staff I have ever dealt with at any hotel. They have worked very hard to make this a nice place. Having only been open 3 weeks they were still trying to work out the bugs, but doing a great job of it! My only disappointment was the breakfast, it was advertised as hot so not what I expected (the oatmeal was hot and there was a toaster), but Matt said they are working on this. Will definitely stay here again when in downtown!

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank akamjn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MagnoliaVPSales, Public Relations Manager at Magnolia Hotel St. Louis, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2014

akamjn:
Wow, we're super excited about your note regarding our staff. We're pretty proud of them and we think they are awesome as well! We'll print out and post your comments so they know how cool they are - or, would their egos get too big? Hmm, we'll risk it. We are working a few kinks out since we're newly open, but we'll get 'em all figured out quickly. We just want everything to be perfect, so thanks for the feedback on breakfast. Matt is a good chap and he'll get it done.
Thanks again for the super nice posting. Our staff will love it.
Come back soon.
Mike

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (841)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

822 - 828 of 841 reviews

Reviewed September 2, 2014

We stayed at the newly remodeled (not quite finished) Magnolia Hotel in downtown St. Louis for a baseball weekend. It's a short walk down 8th street to Busch stadium. Our room was clean and much larger than expected for a downtown hotel. We had two double beds in the bedroom with a separate living room area, split by French doors. The bathroom was a bit small but the huge sink/closet area made up for what the bath/toilet area lacked. There was no beer at the wine/beer happy hour but we survived. We chose to order food so we wouldn't have to pay stadium prices. We split a chicken Philly sandwich and a burger. Our friends ordered the pizzas and a burger. Everything was delicious and reasonably priced. The kids got unlimited Shirley Temples during happy hour, which they thought was really great. After the game, we returned to our room with half of the other family traveling with us. The French doors came in very handy as we sent the kids into the bedroom to watch TV while we chatted in the living room. We all slept very well in the beds. My son wants a mattress like that for his bed! The free continental breakfast was well beyond expectation with a selection of pastries, bagels, muffins, cereal, oatmeal, yogurt, fresh fruit, and juices. We would stay at the Magnolia Hotel again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beachymom3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MagnoliaVPSales, Public Relations Manager at Magnolia Hotel St. Louis, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2014

Beachymom3:
After reading your review, we decided we'd like to just join your family. We think you all are awesome. Now in regards to not having beer at the reception, that's not good and we'll dive into why that happened ASAP. Glad to hear the Shirley's were abound for the kids and we know how nice it is to let the kids watch some TV and Mom and Dad get some down time - so we're awfully glad those french doors came in handy.

Glad we could play a small part in your family outing to the ballgame and please do come back any time soon. We'll keep an eye out for your son and see if we can sneak a bed from the hotel into the car on the next visit...Thanks again for the glowing review. We sure appreciate it.
Mike

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2014

We stayed in st Louis for my boyfriends birthday. I wanted a suite and for $166 a night thought I would have all the nice things. There's no microwave or fridge in the room so thankfully we had a cooler. If you take a left on Washington there are great bars and the empire deli pizza is great! Also the little sidewalk grill with the white guy with long curly hair is awesome! The staff were lovely and everything was pretty quiet. As a holiday inn express employee when I hear hot breakfast I think the works...there were plenty of choices but nothing hot to eat besides oatmeal.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank btizzyyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MagnoliaVPSales, Public Relations Manager at Magnolia Hotel St. Louis, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2014

btizzyyy
Thanks so much for the review. We truly, truly appreciate it. We sure hope your boyfriend had a great birthday and we're proud to have been a part of it. You are right, we unfortunately don't have microwaves in the suites. But next visit (maybe on your birthday - hint, hint), just holler at one of our wait staff and we'll heat up anything you need. We love our location and we especially love all the restaurants and bars around us. Great friends! Come back soon and thanks again.
Mike

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2014

The place was spotless, the people were amazing and the location was so convenient for a baseball or football game! They even have a free breakfast and give shuttle service in their $100,000 Tesla car

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Sdhalter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MagnoliaVPSales, Public Relations Manager at Magnolia Hotel St. Louis, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2014

Sdhalter
We think your review is spot on! Glad your enjoyed the spotless hotel we have. We're pretty proud of it and it's reviews like yours that keep us motivated. The Tesla certainly is drawing some attention and it was worth every penny. Thanks for being and AWESOME reviewer and we'll see you again very soon.
Mike

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2014

FLAWLESS HOTEL!!! -
My son and I stayed here when taking my daughter to college. The car's AC had malfunctioned and after a long drive in 95 degree august heat, we were roasting. Though it was before official check in, Sharon found us a room that my daughter could change clothes and get a quick shower. While my son and I talked to the valet and we ogled the Tesla Magnolia Hotel Shuttle car (just that would have been worth the $ for us) she got ready. THe staff, especially Sharon, were authentically friendly and it had a warm feel.
THe room itself was huge (queen) and the beds were like heaven. Breakfast great, location great, we'll come back here for a hockey game for sure.
This was just an absolute gem.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank dave m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MagnoliaVPSales, Public Relations Manager at Magnolia Hotel St. Louis, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2014

dave m
Wow, we're so humbled and grateful. I'll pass along your comments to Sharon and to our friends at Tesla. They'll love to read that comment. We're proud to have a gem and we think your note is diamonds! Thanks and see you for some more hockey games, or anything else. We'll keep the doors open for you.
Thanks again.
Mike

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2014

I'm a St Louis girl born and raised so when I get back to the area I always stay with family. However, having planned to see the Cardinals game my husband and I decided to book a room for the night to avoid the crowds and traffic. I checked out the big chain hotels near the ballpark and was looking at upwards of $250. Then I found the Magnolia at a very reasonable $160.

Boy am I glad I did! The staff were friendly, the public spaces were elegant and spacious and the standard room was really terrific. Breakfast was delicious and free with the room rate.

My husband was enamoured if the hotel's two Tesla electric cars, which staff will use to drop you around the downtown area.

All in all a terrific find!

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lizzieusauk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MagnoliaVPSales, Public Relations Manager at Magnolia Hotel St. Louis, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2014

izzieusauk, wow, we're speechless. Thanks so much for the awfully nice review. Since the property just opened a few weeks ago, we still have a few kinks we're working on. But your comments certainly make all the extra effort worthwhile. We'll be sure to share with our awesome team. Thanks again and come see us again soon.
Mike

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2014

We were checking out the location of the hotel. We were greeted promptly and made to feel like royalty. Our room was ready early, so were able to check in. We had a great conversation with the staff for a good 5-10 minutes. Would highly recommend this hotel, this is what customer service should look like. Thank you!

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank richardwebstet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MagnoliaVPSales, Public Relations Manager at Magnolia Hotel St. Louis, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2014

richardwebstet, your review makes US feel like royalty. Our staff is super friendly and is loving the new hotel. We have sweet beds, but our personalities are what'll keep guests happy. Thanks for reminding us of that and for staying with us. Come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint Louis hotels
Downtown
Hyatt Regency St. Louis at The Arch
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel St. Louis
Four Seasons Hotel St. Louis
#5 of 123 in Saint Louis
1,470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hilton St. Louis at the Ballpark
Downtown
Westin St. Louis
Westin St. Louis
#21 of 123 in Saint Louis
1,495 reviews
Downtown
Marriott St. Louis Grand
Marriott St. Louis Grand
#27 of 123 in Saint Louis
483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magnolia Hotel St. Louis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnolia Hotel St. Louis

Address: 421 North 8th Street, Saint Louis, MO 63101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Saint Louis
Price Range: $126 - $308 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Magnolia Hotel St. Louis 4*
Number of rooms: 182
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Named to the National Historic Register and a 2015 AAA Four Diamond Recipient, the St. Louis Magnolia Hotel originally opened in 1924 as the Mayfair Hotel by Charles Heiss. The hotel has since undergone many changes throughout its history. The hotel holds significant historical firsts including the first female general manager in St. Louis, origination of chocolates on a pillow by the famous actor, Cary Grant. The hotel is now one of the most recognized in the area for it's historical significance and elegant decor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Magnolia Hotel St. Louis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Roberts Mayfair
The Mayfair Hotel St Louis
Wyndham Saint Louis
Saint Louis Wyndham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing