We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Disappointing” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency St. Louis at The Arch

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hyatt Regency St. Louis at The Arch
Ranked #21 of 121 Hotels in Saint Louis
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

Let me first say that the staff was wonderful I have no problems with their staff. However I was disappointed with the Valet parking only if you want to park at the hotel. It cost $26 per day to do valet parking. So in order to park you have to use a another hotels parking lot, then walk to the hotel. For the money that I paid for my room I did not even have free Wi-Fi and breakfast was not included. The comfort inn hotel was cheaper and had more free amenities. The Hyatt wanted you pay to pay for every little thing.
Once again the staff was wonderful but the over all accommodations of the hotel was not to my satisfaction and also the room was nice however it was very small. Unfortunately I will not stay in another Hyatt hotel I think I do better at the less expensive hotel with bigger rooms and numerous free amenities.

Thank you

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Javante
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyatt-MGMT, Manager at Hyatt Regency St. Louis at The Arch, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Thank you for your feedback Javante. We do offer room packages that include breakfast in the room rate and often times you can find great value by checking out our website - Hyatt.com. If you do plan on returning, please let me.

Kim Halbrehder - Assistant Rooms Executive
Kim.Halbrehder@Hyatt.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,021 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,461
    971
    358
    145
    86
See reviews for
655
762
127
1,071
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (659)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southern Illinois
Level Contributor
103 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

I love the Hyatt Regency - all the employees are very nice and helpful. The room was large and the view of the courthouse was beautiful at Christmastime. The hotel itself is beautiful. Would recommend to anyone staying in St. Louis!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mitchell2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyatt-MGMT, Manager at Hyatt Regency St. Louis at The Arch, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Thank you for the 5-Star review mitchell2013! I personally appreciated your recognition of our staff and your recommendation of our hotel to others. Please let me know if there is anything else I can do to personally assist you.

Kim Halbrehder - Assistant Rooms Executive
Kim.Halbrehder@Hyatt.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Indiana
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We were there with our 3 young kids over the weekend. The location is just great- across the street from the arch, walking distance from many restaurants and attractions. The hotel is very nice, the staff very nice, as can be expected from a Hyatt. Friday night was rather noisy from both the adjacent rooms and the hallway (till midnight more or less), but we were so tired after the drive to St Louis that we still managed to sleep. Saturday night was nice and quiet. Service was good and efficient, and there were only 2 things that made us feel not so good:
1. The rooms are OK, but the beds are small- I would say full, maybe queen. In any case, having 2 adults and 2 kids fit in such 2 beds wasn't easy- my little girl actually slept on the floor the first night because the bed with her brother wasn't spacious enough, and later on when it got too cold for her tried to squeeze in with us which was practically impossible (we have a queen mattress at home and there's definitely more room there). And we are skinny people, certainly not large in size.
2. Parking on the streets over the weekend is free. I read that and after dropping of the luggage on the first night I drove around to look for a parking spot- which wasn't easy. Finally I found one and walked back to the hotel in the freezing cold (low 20's of a January night). When I got to the hotel I asked the bell boy if it's OK to park on the street, just to make sure I'm not going to get a ticket- he told me that overnight street parking is not allowed anywhere, and after I argued that I read it is OK he said that I can test it if I want to but he highly recommends against it. So I went back to the car on (still freezing cold outside) and drove to a garage and paid my fee. But later on I found out that he was wrong- parking is indeed allowed on the street overnight during the weekend (unless signs say differently of course). So I was upset at the bell boy not knowing this, but even more so at him misleading me with wrong info- and doing this with such great confidence.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyatt-MGMT, Manager at Hyatt Regency St. Louis at The Arch, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thank you for the 4-Star review Dan E! Our rooms with two beds are double beds, I would recommend for a future stay to book two connecting rooms. We have a variety of packages for families that are more economical and would provide more space. I apologize for the information that had been provided regarding parking overnight. Typically street signage will dictate where it is safe to park overnight without receiving a ticket; however I would personally recommend paying for parking as it is covered and generally more secure. Please contact me directly if you have any additional questions or concerns.

Kim Halbrehder - Assistant Rooms Executive
Kim.Halbrehder@Hyatt.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, Arizona
Level Contributor
204 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

My family and I stayed 3 nights in this hotel durring Xmas break while we visited family in St. Louis area. My mother in law was traveling with us and it was her 1st time ever in STL so I wanted to stay in the heart of downtown in a nice hotel somewhere. This hotel is THE closest hotel to the Arch/riverfront. It is literly like a 3 minute walk. This hotel is the old Adam's Mark hotel. It is nice and seems like it gets lots of business conferences, etc... there was one going on while we were there. Check in was quick and the valet bell hop grabbed all of our bags from our car as we pulled up and delivered them to our room which was nice. There is free wi-fi only in the lobby, not in the rooms (which I never understand)
There were 3 adults and 2 children with my group so we stayed in a "family suite" (this was not available online, I had to call to reserve) It was basically a one king bed suite that connected to another room that was a 2 queen standard room that overlooked the arch. This layout was perfect for us. However there was a pull out couch that we had one of the kids sleep on and this did have bottle caps under it, which tells you that the room was not thouroughly clean. Something you never want to see. The space we had between the rooms was HUGE, great for my kids to run around and even play hide and seek. I felt they could run around without disturbing other rooms....so that was nice.
In our main room (1655) it was directly by the elevator control room on the 16th floor. 24 hours a day you would hear LOUD noises coming from it. IT WAS HORRIBLE. My wife called twice to complain, and the hotel manager acted like this was the first they have ever heard of it. They could not switch us rooms. STAY AWAY FROM room 1655 if you want to sleep!
Valet parking is a must here as there are no close parking garages around, cost $26/day. High but standard I guess with any big city. The in and out priveleges are nice to have if you have a car. There is a nice Starbucks in the lobby, as well as an overpriced sports bar.
Hotel was kind of what you expect from a Hyatt Regency in a huge city...

Room Tip: STAY AWAY FROM room 1655 if you want to sleep!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank impresiv1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyatt-MGMT, Manager at Hyatt Regency St. Louis at The Arch, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thank you for the feedback impresiv1. I would like to apologize again for the noise you experienced with the room you had stayed in. We are reviewing what we could do better moving forward to provide a quieter environment for guests that stay in the room you had been in. There is a self-parking option, the Mansion house garage adjacent to the hotel that is $8 per night on the weekdays and $3 per night on the weekend. Please let me know if there is anything else I can do to assist you.

Kim Halbrehder - Assistant Rooms Executive
Kim.Halbrehder@Hyatt.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Overall experience was great. The hotel staff was very nice and accommodating. This is very important because you want your trip to be as smooth as possible; I only asked questions about sites and wait times, nothing very extreme. At some hotels, some staff can be annoyed considering they probably have to answer the same question over and over. The rooms were very clean and the lobby felt luxurious. The meeting rooms were very easy to find and the window views from outside of the room was awesome: ARCH right across the street. My room also had a great view of the Arch. Hotel is downtown so expect valet parking. I did not go to any of the restaurants in the hotel. I ventured out a few blocks away. The weekend I stayed the self-park was full and the staff was very understanding and valet for the same price. If you want a downtown hotel that is walkable to the stadium, Arch, other sites, I do recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AlienKid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyatt-MGMT, Manager at Hyatt Regency St. Louis at The Arch, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Thank you for the 4-Star review AlienKid! I hope that you can come and visit us during the spring and summer months. There are a variety of different activities to participate in and the Cardinals baseball season provides a completely different ambiance to the downtown area. Please let me know if your travels bring you back to our hotel!

Kim Halbrehder - Assistant Rooms Executive
Kim.Halbrehder@Hyatt.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
68 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

From the friendly check-in to the valets we were treated like extra special guests. We used hotwire.com to get a great winter price and it was more than worth our stay. We even had a view of the arch from our room. We had the breakfast buffet our last day at the hotel and it was well worth the price. This is definitely the hotel to stay in if you are staying in downtown St. Louis.

Room Tip: ask for a room with a view of the arch!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kevinpalmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyatt-MGMT, Manager at Hyatt Regency St. Louis at The Arch, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thank you for the 5-Star review kevinpalmer! I appreciated your recognition of our Front desk and Valet attendants. Please check out Hyatt.com for a variety of economical room packages that can include breakfast. I hope that your travels will bring you back to St. Louis!

Kim Halbrehder - Assistant Rooms Executive
Kim.Halbrehder@Hyatt.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

This is a wonderful hotel. The location next to the Arch is great ..Location is great within walking distance to everything... Walked down along the river.
It is a fairly large hotel and feels very luxurious from the lobby to the hallways to the rooms.
Cost amazing, you would pay three times as much in Australia for this hotel.
We went to our first football game on the Friday night... we loved it very different to Austalian football.
Staff very friendly and helpful. Would recommend this hotel to our friends.
Thanks for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DebJ3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyatt-MGMT, Manager at Hyatt Regency St. Louis at The Arch, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thank you for the 5-Star review DebJ3! It’s great to hear that you had such a wonderful experience. You should return in the summer and catch a Cardinals game; it really captures the feel of St. Louis. Please let me know if I can personally assist you in booking a reservation or helping in any way.

Kim Halbrehder - Assistant Rooms Executive
Kim.Halbrehder@Hyatt.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint Louis hotels
Downtown
Hilton St. Louis Downtown at the Arch
Downtown
Hilton St. Louis at the Ballpark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Magnolia Hotel St. Louis
Magnolia Hotel St. Louis
#5 of 121 in Saint Louis
4.5 of 5 stars 636 reviews
Downtown
Westin St. Louis
Westin St. Louis
#16 of 121 in Saint Louis
4.5 of 5 stars 1,338 reviews
Downtown
Hampton Inn - St. Louis Downtown at the Gateway Arch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency St. Louis at The Arch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency St. Louis at The Arch

Property: Hyatt Regency St. Louis at The Arch
Address: 315 Chestnut Street, Saint Louis, MO 63102-1813
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Saint Louis
#7 Luxury Hotel in Saint Louis
#19 Romantic Hotel in Saint Louis
#24 Family Hotel in Saint Louis
#31 Business Hotel in Saint Louis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency St. Louis at The Arch 4*
Number of rooms: 910
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience a place designed around the power of connection, where guests can convene, consider and collaborate. We prepare you to make the most of every gathering from before you arrive to the next time we welcome you back. From a place where there's space to think and space to get away to relax with swift check-in, food that feeds the mind and body, plentiful inspiring spaces for conversation to a 24-hour StayFit fitness center for re-energizing. Hyatt Regency St. Louis at The Arch is located next to the famous and newly transfomed Gateway Arch grounds and steps away from Busch Stadium and Ballpark Village. Convenient to all major highways and the airport, you're just a drive away! Enjoy four dining outlets, including the world-famous Ruth's Chris Steak House. Prefer a more casual dining experience? Enjoy a daily breakfast buffet, lunch or dinner at Red Kitchen & Bar. Want to catch a game and try some local craft beers and BBQ? Stop in to our Brewhouse Sports Bar. If you're on the run, pick up a latte and freshly-made pastry at our on-site Starbucks. Discover memorable local area attractions during your stay including cheering on our St. Louis Cardinals and Blues sports teams, learning about the blues music scene at the brand new National Blues Museum, browsing organic produce at the Soulard Farmers Market, exploring City Museum, and touring the Anheuser Busch Brewery. Return to your stylishly modern guestroom which includes amenities such as 37" flat screen TV's with On Demand, Hyatt Grand bed's, iHome stereos, free WiFi and high-speed Internet access, in-room safes and refrigerators. Welcome to Hyatt Regency. It's good not to be home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Hyatt Regency St. Louis at The Arch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency St. Louis At The Arch Hotel Saint Louis
Adams Mark Hotel St Louis Missouri
Hyatt Regency Saint Louis
Hyatt Saint Louis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing