We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than my apartment!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency St. Louis at The Arch

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hyatt Regency St. Louis at The Arch
Ranked #22 of 120 Hotels in Saint Louis
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Better than my apartment!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

I stayed here for a conference- four nights & five days. The conference was so engaging I rarely walked out of the hotel- that is why I'm particularly thankful that this was an excellent choice. The room was newly renovated and immaculate; the bathroom spacious and spotless (I had a dressing area attached to the bathroom); the hotel staff is just about the friendliest I've met... and even the room service was fast and yummy.

I spent a little more to be upgraded to a king, non-smoking room that overlooked the Arch. Do it if you can- the view is delightful and it was a VERY large room (with hallway, dressing area, nice bathroom and a VERY large main room). It wasn't a suite, but it might as well have been! I'm pretty sure it's larger than my NY apartment~ Loved it. I truly felt relaxed and "at home" when back in my room between meetings.

Advice- (in addition to upgrading if you can), if you have trouble walking- ask for a room closer to the elevator banks. My room was a corner room at the end of the hall. It provided an awesome view, but if you have any issues with walking- it IS a large hotel. Ask to be closer to the elevators.

Room Tip: Tips for room choice- upgrade to Arch View if you can; ask to be close to the elevator if you have t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Freckles92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyatt-MGMT, Manager at Hyatt Regency St. Louis at The Arch, responded to this review, April 2, 2012
Thanks Freckles92 for your great review! We strive to make all of our guests feel comfortable and at-home, so we’ll definitely take your review as a compliment. I certainly agree with you also, I’d recommend upgrading to our corner Arch View deluxe rooms – they have breathtaking views of the Mississippi River and the Gateway Arch. They are also nearly 800 square feet, so they feel much more like an apartment than a hotel room.

We really appreciate your comments, please let me know if you need anything at all on any future stays.

Thanks again,

Chris Palid – Assistant Rooms Executive
Christopher.Palid@Hyatt.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,852 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,375
    916
    342
    136
    83
See reviews for
606
725
123
1,002
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (646)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Marina, California
Level Contributor
101 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

If you look at the front of this place on Google Street View, you'll see "Adam's Mark" at the top of the driveway. When I was a kid, Adam's Mark was the symbol for top-notch hotels, at least for me. I got the chance to stay in the last remaining Adam's Mark in Buffalo last year - the first time I had ever stayed in one - and it was like being around a very old woman who had been very beautiful in her early life. It was attempting to live up to what it was once was through grandiose superficiality but, ultimately, failed to do so.
I relate this story because I'm starting to see that the Hyatt brand is on the same path. This is only the second Hyatt I've stayed in in the past ten years, with the other just a couple of months prior to this one. In both cases, it just did not live up to my expectations for a Hyatt property, as Hyatt, to me, means luxury and a true definition of 4-star accommodation.
Both properties were obtained through Hotwire for roughly the same amount. This St. Louis property had a nicer lobby and a nicer room overall, but there were still the issues that you see in these lower-end, older 4* properties, like the odd and small room layout, shabby hallways, a dysfunctional and slow elevator, and what seemed to be staff issues.
When I checked in, I found that we were booked into a two double room. I requested a king and was told that one was available, despite the hotel being full that night. We went out that night and did not try the bed until about 1am, when we discovered crumbs and hair in the bed. We called the front desk and were told that the housekeeping manager would be there in 10 minutes. 30 minutes later, a man shows up with what looks like a sheet set but is, instead, a mattress cover for a double bed. He leaves and says he'll be back. Another 15 minutes go by, and we call downstairs again, offering to come down and get the sheets ourselves. The original man and another man in a suit, stating he's a manager, shows up. The latter was visibly agitated and only offered excuses about how busy they were that night. The bed was finally re-made past 2. My wife was more upset by this than I was, but I was mainly upset at the fact that this was handled as poorly as it was.
The fact is that there are a number of 4-star hotels in Downtown St. Louis that all run at roughly the same rate and offer the same amenities. I'm a Hilton guy normally, for various reasons, and strongly considered one of their properties for this two-night stay, but was pulled away by the fact that the rate here was something like 40% less through Hotwire. I regret the choice. The unfortunate situation that we experienced could have happened anywhere, but there's no getting around the fact that other places would have likely handled it better. If I had paid full price for this room, then I would have been extremely disappointed.
It's especially disconcerting to me because they seem to put a lot of emphasis on the staff-guest interaction here. We ended up relating the experience to a woman who I assume was a manager as we left, and just got sort of a nodding head of empathy and an offer of an upgrade for next time. I think my wife wanted something comped. I just wanted a "We'll try harder next time." I didn't get that verbally and didn't get the feeling that what I had to say was going to be anything more than that brief conversation.
My other Hyatt stay wasn't much better than this one, but the room was clean there, at least. In the future, I don't think I will specifically avoid the Hyatt brand, but it's certainly been put in a vastly different place in my mind than where it was before. Even with that upgrade offer, I don't think I'll be here my next time in St. Louis. There's a Hilton virtually across the street.

Room Tip: Get a higher floor. The lower floor elevators seem to be wonky.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank colinaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyatt-MGMT, Manager at Hyatt Regency St. Louis at The Arch, responded to this review, March 30, 2012
Wow, I’m extremely disappointed to hear how we dropped the ball during your visit. It’s embarrassing, and certainly not an indication of how we take care of our guests.

I would like to invite you back to our hotel as my personal guest on your next visit to St. Louis. I can assure you that we’ve worked hard to earn our reputation of great service, clean and comfortable accommodations, and friendly and engaging employees. You will see that your last visit was the exception and not the rule.

If you could please contact me at your earliest convenience so I can work out the details with you I would appreciate it.

Thank you again for your understanding.

Chris Palid – Assistant Rooms Executive
(314)342-4647
Christopher.Palid@hyatt.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

Stayed here on a Friday night for a concert. Got a great rate, convenient location close to the venue. Very accommodating staff, friendly, quick check-in, had a nice large room with a good view of the arch. Water in the lobby was delicious! Parking a few blocks away, while a bit confusing with a maze of aisles and entry/exit points, was very cheap given the weekend rate. Surprisingly dull scene on a Friday night in the surrounding area, but not a knock on the Hyatt.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the arch
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ajrcpc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyatt-MGMT, Manager at Hyatt Regency St. Louis at The Arch, responded to this review, March 30, 2012
Thank you for your review. Hopefully you’ll be back to visit us as the city gears up for an exciting spring and summer. Please contact me if there’s ever anything I can do to assist you. Thank you again for taking the time to give us feedback.

Chris Palid – Assistant Rooms Executive
Christopher.Palid@hyatt.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AUS
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2012

From the moment you walk into the Hyatt Regency at The Arch, the entire staff go out of their way to make you feel special, and at home. Great location, excellent choices for food and beverage, super clean rooms...there is nothing negative I can say about my stays here. One of my favorite aspects is the 9 PM - 9 AM "Quiet Period" that they enforce for the hallways. Makes for the most consistently quiet sleep of any hotel I have ever stayed at. A real joy.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ed R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyatt-MGMT, Manager at Hyatt Regency St. Louis at The Arch, responded to this review, March 26, 2012
Dear Ed R,

Thank you for staying with us! We are happy that the Hyatt Regency St. Louis at the Arch is your choice Hotel in St. Louis. Thank you for sharing your stay experience with us and the Tripadvisor community. I will be sure to pass on to Security that they should keep up the good work for controlling the Noise plan that we have set in place. We hope to see you again!

Best Regards,


Andrew Wrozek
Front Office Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012

I agree with the review of pm_marie that the hospitality of the staff made this a terrific hotel stay during a recent conference for the Children's Hospital Association. These are the most sincerely engaging hotel staff I have encountered, friendly, personable and genuine in their desire to ensure you are having a great stay. If I paused in the lobby even for a moment, a staff member would instantly be at my elbow to ask of there was some way they could be of assistance. Concierge advised me of the best place to purchase a piece of AV equipment I needed, and gave me great directions when I asked if I could take the Metro Train. I recommend taking the train from the airport, it is $3.25 versus a $37 cab ride, and it lets you off a block away. The international wait staff in the restaurants enjoyed initiating conversation. I felt like a "regular" in the Brewmaster, the excellent onsite sports bar. Staff made a point of calling me by name whenever possible, even if they had to read my conference name badge. I could not get enough of the Gateway Arch and enjoyed taking photos from many vantage points. The hotel is a short walk to Busch Stadium, home of the Cardinals and a few stops on the train to the arena where the St. Louis Blues play hockey. St, Louis is a big time city that hosts major league events yet treats guests with a small town hospitality.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the side facing the Gateway Arch, the views are spectacular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ontheroadlesstravele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyatt-MGMT, Manager at Hyatt Regency St. Louis at The Arch, responded to this review, April 2, 2012
Thank you ontheroadlesstraveled, for your detailed review of our property. It’s great to hear such positive comments about our hospitality and service, because these are the characteristics that we build on. Without our hardworking engaging team members we’re not a Hyatt. We appreciate your comments and will certainly share them with our associates. Please let me know if there’s anything else we can do for you.

Thanks again,

Chris Palid – Assistant Rooms Executive
Christopher.Palid@hyatt.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Illinois
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012

My husband and I stay here ALL the time when we travel to St. Louis. How do we afford it? Priceline. If you aren't naming your own price on Priceline, you should. Typically wait until the day before, or the day of and BAM, enter something low, like $50 and you're likely to get this hotel. The hotel is super clean, big open lobby, and sparkling rooms. This hotel has a ton of room layouts and some of them are small, but many offer a great view of either the Arch or the city. They are home to Ruth Chris Steakhouse and close to the Arch, casinos, Busch Stadium, Edward Jones Dome, and pretty much anything downtown!!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank msuhoops04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyatt-MGMT, Manager at Hyatt Regency St. Louis at The Arch, responded to this review, March 26, 2012
Dear msuhoops04,

We are pleased to hear that you are very loyal to our hotel. Thank you for staying with us! Thank you for sharing your hotel experience with the Tripadvisor community. We hope to see you soon.

Best Regards,


Andrew Wrozek
Front Office Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012

This was our second stay at this hotel, and my husband and I loved it. We were in town this time for a concert and arrived in the afternoon. (The first time we stayed, our young daughter joined us and thought it was 'fancy'.)The fitness center is incredible--clean, tons of equipment, with plenty of windows to watch the city happenings while you exercise. The room was immaculate, updated, quiet and the view of the city was fantastic. The hotel staff was incredibly friendly and helpful--from the front desk to the bartender at the bar/grill downtairs. (the name of the restaurant escapes me.) The location of this hotel cannot be beat either--we could see the arch from our room and walked to dinner and the concert. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Courtney C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyatt-MGMT, Manager at Hyatt Regency St. Louis at The Arch, responded to this review, March 26, 2012
Dear Courtney C,

Thank you for staying at the Hyatt Regency St. Louis at the Arch. We were pleased to see that you enjoyed our Hotel for a 2nd time around. We appreciate your feedback from your stay. We hope you visit us soon. Happy Traveling.

Best Regards,


Andrew Wrozek
Front Office Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint Louis hotels
Downtown
Hilton St. Louis Downtown at the Arch
Downtown
Hilton St. Louis at the Ballpark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Westin St. Louis
Westin St. Louis
#17 of 120 in Saint Louis
4.5 of 5 stars 1,307 reviews
Downtown
Magnolia Hotel St. Louis
Magnolia Hotel St. Louis
#5 of 120 in Saint Louis
4.5 of 5 stars 578 reviews
Downtown
Hampton Inn - St. Louis Downtown at the Gateway Arch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency St. Louis at The Arch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency St. Louis at The Arch

Property: Hyatt Regency St. Louis at The Arch
Address: 315 Chestnut Street, Saint Louis, MO 63102-1813
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Saint Louis
#8 Luxury Hotel in Saint Louis
#19 Romantic Hotel in Saint Louis
#24 Family Hotel in Saint Louis
#31 Business Hotel in Saint Louis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency St. Louis at The Arch 4*
Number of rooms: 910
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience a place designed around the power of connection, where guests can convene, consider and collaborate. We prepare you to make the most of every gathering from before you arrive to the next time we welcome you back. From a place where there's space to think and space to get away to relax with swift check-in, food that feeds the mind and body, plentiful inspiring spaces for conversation to a 24-hour StayFit fitness center for re-energizing. Hyatt Regency St. Louis at The Arch is located next to the famous and newly transfomed Gateway Arch grounds and steps away from Busch Stadium and Ballpark Village. Convenient to all major highways and the airport, you're just a drive away! Enjoy four dining outlets, including the world-famous Ruth's Chris Steak House. Prefer a more casual dining experience? Enjoy a daily breakfast buffet, lunch or dinner at Red Kitchen & Bar. Want to catch a game and try some local craft beers and BBQ? Stop in to our Brewhouse Sports Bar. If you're on the run, pick up a latte and freshly-made pastry at our on-site Starbucks. Discover memorable local area attractions during your stay including cheering on our St. Louis Cardinals and Blues sports teams, learning about the blues music scene at the brand new National Blues Museum, browsing organic produce at the Soulard Farmers Market, exploring City Museum, and touring the Anheuser Busch Brewery. Return to your stylishly modern guestroom which includes amenities such as 37" flat screen TV's with On Demand, Hyatt Grand bed's, iHome stereos, free WiFi and high-speed Internet access, in-room safes and refrigerators. Welcome to Hyatt Regency. It's good not to be home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Odigeo, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your Hyatt Regency St. Louis at The Arch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency St. Louis At The Arch Hotel Saint Louis
Adams Mark Hotel St Louis Missouri
Hyatt Regency Saint Louis
Hyatt Saint Louis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing