We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lord Forgive Me for being hungry...”

Missouri Baking Company
Ranked #1 of 89 Dessert in Saint Louis
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Parking Available, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: The Hill
Dickson, Tennessee
Level Contributor
171 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Lord Forgive Me for being hungry...”
Reviewed October 31, 2013

Lord forgive me for going into that place hungry... EVERYTHING you can imagine freshly baked and calling my name...This put a new meaning to the old phrase "Bite Me". I left this WONDERFUL place smelling of fresh baked cookies and wiping the glaze from my mouth. I was glad someone was able to get the door opened for me, as both arms were loaded with carry out boxes to take back to Nashville and freeze for later enjoyment. This place IS A MUST.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank TacoSwope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

445 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    389
    44
    8
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Moweaqua, IL
Level Contributor
66 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Awesome Bakery!”
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Never miss these folks! Great bakery items but be prepared to take a number and wait-it's that good. Take a cooler to take LOTS home

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank TimisTours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McKinney, TX
Level Contributor
126 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Everything is great.”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

This is a bakery like we used to have in Brooklyn. Even if you are traveling you must stop for a treat. Disneyland for cake lovers.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, Missouri
Level Contributor
384 reviews
287 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“I hate to tell you my secret”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

The Missouri Baking Company has been an anchor of the St. Louis Hill for at least one half a century. They have developed the art of Italian Baking to that of an old world master. The creamy interior is matched with a crispy chewy crust that makes the loaves the best in the city.

Whether eaten with butter (never margarine) or used to soak up a wonderful gravy, the breads and rolls (merkeets) are the best I have ever eaten.

The crown jewel of the Italian breads is the Shampa (horns of the devil). This uniquely shaped bread has 4 vertical horns in the middle and what appears to be two hoagie shaped pieces on the two ends. While my description does not do the Shampa justice, if you are lucky enough to get to the bakery before they sell out, buy one or two.

Now for the Stu secret, which I really don't want to give out. Call the day before your trip and ask the wonderful folks at the bakery to but a couple of Shampa breads aside for you. That way if you arrive and are lucky enough to find a parking space within a block or two of the bakery a prize awaits you once you arrive.

Now that I have given you my family secret, here is the other one. Order ricotta cannoli at the same time. If you like small round bread get some merkeets.

The Italian cookies are always in plentiful supply so wait and select what you want until you get there.

Don't visit on a Saturday after 11 a.m., the place is overflowing with devotees, who have been known to fanatically rush the doors and can be unruly (that isn't true, but I want to have room to get into the bakery so I am trying to scare you off.)

It was very easy three days ago to spend $30.00 cash (no credit cards at Missouri Bakery) on those items I dearly love.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stu K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quincy, Illinois
Level Contributor
184 reviews
134 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Always on our list”
Reviewed July 10, 2013

When we visit St Louis we always try to get to the Hill. This bakery is the best and freshest in St Louis. The staff is always helpful and very patient when we are trying to make up our minds. You need to stop here.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lostandhungry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Missouri Baking Company also viewed

 

Been to Missouri Baking Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing