We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Personal Service Ever” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa Magnolia Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Saint Louis
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa Magnolia Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 26 Saint Louis B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Pekin, Illinois
1 review
“Best Personal Service Ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

Jordi and Lillabet are an amazing fun-loving couple (congrats on your 19th anniversary) who know how to truly make you feel right at home. Thank you for the homemade cookies in the sitting room every night and the candies left by our bedside. They've done an excellent job in restoring their Victorian home while at the same time including all the modern conveniences. We hope next time to enjoy your beautiful backyard including the swimming pool. Lillabet is a fantastic cook and baker. Her breakfasts every morning included fresh fruit, homemade breads, homemade jams/jellies, egg/meat frittata (or, another wonderful egg/meat dish), etc. They asked about food allergies and likes/dislikes so they could prepare a breakfast to meet our needs. Jordi helped with our bags, offered us umbrellas on a rainy day, made recommendations and gave great directions. The location is perfect and has a lovely view of Tower Grove Park directly across the street. Out our back door was the Shaw Art Festival; around the corner is the world famous Missouri Botanical Gardens; in 10 minutes we were shopping at the Galleria and Brentwood Blvd; and we were less than 10 minutes to great Italian dining on The Hill. Thank you so much for opening your home to us and making us feel like family.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bonnie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
40
53
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Shawnee, Kansas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

My wife and I took the train from Chicago for a reunion in St. Louis with long-time friends from Kansas City who, fortunately for us, like to stay at B&B's instead of motels. Their choice of Casa Magnolia at 4171 Magnolia Ave. made our 3-day visit to St. Louis far more memorable than anything Forest Park or anything else in the city could have prompted. The breakfasts, the room, the bed, the décor, the back yard patio, the incomparable ambiance and the cookies (oh, what cookies!) combined to make September 3-6 red-letter days on our 2013 calendar. What will stay with us the longest are memories of Lillabet and Jordi, our hostess and host, whose warm hospitality and willingness to share themselves with us surpassed all the splendid tangibles they had to offer. We feel as though we have made two new friends. Christmas cards to them will follow.

Harry and Jo Jones, Chicago

Room Tip: All three rooms are fine and filled with antiques.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Charles H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

A very comfortable B&B to stay at. It was very clean and uniquely decorated. The breakfast was outstanding. The Innkeepers were exceptionally interesting and very friendly . We enjoyed our stay here. Also, they have a great location.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wetravelalso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor ME
Level Contributor
481 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

We stayed at Casa Magnolia 2 years ago, and really enjoyed the experience, so it was an easy decision to stay there again when we visited St. Louis.
The inn is quiet, beautifully decorated, and the hosts are most entertaining.

Room Tip: The largest and most expensive room also happens to be the one without the en suite bathroom. We pre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ghost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

Initial greeting very professional by Jordi with a "Happy Birthday" for my wife. He asked if we had any special diet requests for breakfast and since other guests had asked for 8:30 breakfast would that be acceptable for us. In the morning I came down early for breakfast and Jordi offered me coffee. I accepted the offer and went out to a very comfortable porch swing to enjoy the early morning and my coffee. My recommendation when you stay is"use the swing". I would not do justice to a breakfast that can only be understood by experience. You need to do that and then try to explain it for me. Not only is the food exceptional but the conversation with guests, Lillabet and Jordi made this more of a family gathering than guests in their home. I know they had to have more to do, but they spent way more time with my wife and me than we deserved. The location across from Tower Grove Park near the Missouri Botanical Gardens and restaurants on "The Hill" makes Casa Magnolia a must destination.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chiaramussoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Jospeh
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

I can not say enough good things about the Casa Magnolia. Lilly and Jordi make you feel like family in this warm and inviting B & B. They know what they're doing here for sure. It is not only inviting it is also interesting with all the antiques that they collect. They have a wonderful pool that is nice to swim in on a hot summers day in St. Louis. We have been there twice inviting two different couples one Dallas and another from Indiana and they loved it. The location of there B & B is close to everything. If you're coming to St. Louis for a game the location is close to a ride to the game so you don't have to fight the traffic downtown. St. Louis in itself is a great place to visit as they have so much to do and so many places to go not just the arch & baseball. My husband and I highly recommend the Casa Magnolia because of the experience and the warm friendly atmosphere with the location being perfect.

Room Tip: Just call. I think all the rooms are wonderful. There is one that face forest park in the front...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaMagnolia, Owner at Casa Magnolia Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Thank you, Cheryl, for your very kind comments about our B&B. It was great having you again with us. Just to clarify, our home faces Tower Grove Park, which is in the Shaw neighborhood, and not Forest Park. Tower Grove Park is a historic victorian park associated with the Missouri Botanical Gardens, which is only a block away from our B&B.
We hope to see you and Ken again soon. Thanks again. Lillabet & Jordi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

Breakfast was fantastic, hosts were warm and friendly, room was beautiful, location was convenient. Casa Magnolia was a great place for a weekend in St. Louis. I would recommend it to friends visiting the area.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Csiviolinist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint Louis hotels
Forest Park
Home2 Suites by Hilton St. Louis / Forest Park
Downtown
Magnolia Hotel St. Louis
Magnolia Hotel St. Louis
#7 of 121 in Saint Louis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Cheshire
#34 of 121 in Saint Louis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 874 reviews
Downtown
Drury Inn St. Louis at Union Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Magnolia Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Magnolia Bed & Breakfast

Property: Casa Magnolia Bed & Breakfast
Address: 4171 Magnolia Ave, Saint Louis, MO 63110-3962
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis > Shaw
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Saint Louis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Magnolia is a beautiful Victorian home in the historic Shaw neighborhood in St. Louis, Missouri. The house was built in 1906 and overlooks exquisite Tower Grove Park, a historical landmark created and designed by Henry Shaw, who also founded the Missouri Botanical Garden in 1868, which is located less than a mile from Casa Magnolia and attracts visitors from all over the world.The three bedrooms are located on the second floor, along with a sitting room complete with a fireplace and plenty of books!The bedrooms of Casa Magnolia are beautifully decorated, and each one has its own unique character. The King Bedroom has a beautiful view of historic Tower Grove Park, while both of the Queen Bedrooms overlook the backyard patio and swimming pool. All three rooms have a private bath and free wireless internet access.A full breakfast is served every morning, which includes fresh fruit, home made pastries, home made jellies, a main dish (such as casserole, omelet, puff pastry or pancakes) and side dishes, served with juice and your choice of coffee or tea.Lillabet and Jordi, innkeepers of Casa Magnolia B&B, "your home-away-from-home" ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing