We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Saint Louis
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa Magnolia Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 26 Saint Louis B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ahmeek, Michigan
Level Contributor
75 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Home”
Reviewed May 27, 2013

You can call Casa Magnolia a Bed & Breakfast right up until the moment you pass through the front door. From then on, the only proper description is "Home." Lillabet & Jordi are such gracious hosts that you feel welcomed as part of their family. The rooms are inviting, peaceful, and comfortable. Breakfast is served in the most elegant style, making you feel infinitely pampered. The fresh, home-cooked foods are delicious. The only drawback to this amazing place is that you eventually have to leave. Even then we were pampered because we had to get on the road early, they packed us a wonderful "to-go" breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Betty Rae T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
44
55
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Illinois
Level Contributor
59 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Our family enjoyed another fabulous stay at Casa Magnolia last week. Comfortable, quiet, convenient, and our hosts are fabulous cooks - breakfast was wonderful! We are already looking forward to our next stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank travelling5Illinois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed May 10, 2013

We enjoyed an earlier delightful stay with Lillabet and Jordi as part of a Missouri Botanical Garden and a St. Louis Science Center "expedition" to St. Louis and wanted to share our discovery with our Denver daughter. It took some family planning and scheduling to get it together, but was well worth the effort. Lillabet was able to give us good recommendations for restaurants nearby and on the "Hill" which were most helpful. The breakfast was absolutely scrumptious and the lively conversation with Lillabet and Jordi that accompanied it gave us the delightful story of the house, its restoration and transformation into the treasure that it now is. The weather was a bit cool for a dip in the lovely pool this time, but we brought a favorite Spanish wine and some tasty cranberry adorned goat cheese and crackers to celebrate our afternoon arrival...(there is a refrigerator available for snacks and wine you might care to bring to enjoy by the pool) And...there is a beautiful park (Tower Grove Park) for walking, running and relaxing just outside the front door! Next time we will plan on even a longer stay!

Room Tip: Rooms on the north have a view of the pool,the room on the south , a view of the park...all are good...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard55Mcd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edison, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed April 29, 2013

We were impressed as soon as we got in the house. Exquisitely decorated. Our stay is very comfortable and the breakfast is excellent. We love the fresh fruits and yogurt as well as the classicals that were served royal style. Lillabet and Jordi made special omelet and pastry that are excellent. Very friendly host. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Yan X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaMagnolia, Owner at Casa Magnolia Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind review. If we ever make it to China, we will call you first to get some info.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
1 review
Reviewed April 28, 2013

We spent a weekend at Casa Magnolia in April. We found it on the internet, seeking a bed-and-breakfast place close to the home of our son. We loved the house, the eclectic decor mixing St. Louis '03 World's Fair and Spanish cloister, our room, bed, and bath, the home-made breakfasts in a wonderful dining room. Above all, we enjoyed our wonderful hosts, Jordi and Lillibet. If you spend time in their house, they want to spend time with you, and we assure you it will be time rewardingly spent.
Casa Magnolia faces the beautiful Tower Grove Park, and is just around the corner from the Missouri Botanical Garden. Street parking is plentiful. In warm weather, the back yard beckons with barbecue pit and pool. The Grand Street business district and St. Louis University are nearby, Wash U is an easy drive or cabfare away.
We will certainly return to Casa Magnolia, and will recommend it to all our friends traveling to St. Louis.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Seth A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaMagnolia, Owner at Casa Magnolia Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Thank you so much for your detailed review. We really enjoyed your visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed April 26, 2013

On a spring visit to the gorgeous Missouri Botanical Garden, we stayed here because it was close, but we would stay here again even without the Garden. We received a warm and thoughtful welcome from the moment we arrived. Our kind host was fun to visit with and supplied helpful, accurate advice about where to find a bite for supper, a beer, or both. We admired the furnishings and collectibles and devoured the great Spanish omelets.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joan503Beck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaMagnolia, Owner at Casa Magnolia Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words. But it is really our wondeful guests, like you and your family, what makes this adventure well worth it. Muchas gracias.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We stayed here while attending our son's baby's christening nearby. We frequently stay at B&B's and this was our favorite ever. The king bed room was beautiful, big, and comfortable. We spent 3 hours talking to Jordy and Lillibet the first morning so that should tell you something about the quality of the breakfast and their hospitality. The other two breakfast were also long because of good conversation. The pool is lovely and refreshing. We hope that our son's house is full on other occasions so we can stay here.

Room Tip: All good. Queen bed rooms have private baths. The king bed room has a spacious bath across the hal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BetsyBeau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint Louis hotels
Forest Park
Home2 Suites by Hilton St. Louis / Forest Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Magnolia Hotel St. Louis
Magnolia Hotel St. Louis
#7 of 120 in Saint Louis
771 reviews
Downtown
Drury Inn St. Louis at Union Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Magnolia Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Magnolia Bed & Breakfast

Property: Casa Magnolia Bed & Breakfast
Address: 4171 Magnolia Ave, Saint Louis, MO 63110-3962
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis > Shaw
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Saint Louis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Magnolia is a beautiful Victorian home in the historic Shaw neighborhood in St. Louis, Missouri. The house was built in 1906 and overlooks exquisite Tower Grove Park, a historical landmark created and designed by Henry Shaw, who also founded the Missouri Botanical Garden in 1868, which is located less than a mile from Casa Magnolia and attracts visitors from all over the world.The three bedrooms are located on the second floor, along with a sitting room complete with a fireplace and plenty of books!The bedrooms of Casa Magnolia are beautifully decorated, and each one has its own unique character. The King Bedroom has a beautiful view of historic Tower Grove Park, while both of the Queen Bedrooms overlook the backyard patio and swimming pool. All three rooms have a private bath and free wireless internet access.A full breakfast is served every morning, which includes fresh fruit, home made pastries, home made jellies, a main dish (such as casserole, omelet, puff pastry or pancakes) and side dishes, served with juice and your choice of coffee or tea.Lillabet and Jordi, innkeepers of Casa Magnolia B&B, "your home-away-from-home" ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing