We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Casa Magnolia is a great find.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Saint Louis
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa Magnolia Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 26 Saint Louis B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Boston
1 review
“Casa Magnolia is a great find.”
Reviewed April 28, 2013

We spent a weekend at Casa Magnolia in April. We found it on the internet, seeking a bed-and-breakfast place close to the home of our son. We loved the house, the eclectic decor mixing St. Louis '03 World's Fair and Spanish cloister, our room, bed, and bath, the home-made breakfasts in a wonderful dining room. Above all, we enjoyed our wonderful hosts, Jordi and Lillibet. If you spend time in their house, they want to spend time with you, and we assure you it will be time rewardingly spent.
Casa Magnolia faces the beautiful Tower Grove Park, and is just around the corner from the Missouri Botanical Garden. Street parking is plentiful. In warm weather, the back yard beckons with barbecue pit and pool. The Grand Street business district and St. Louis University are nearby, Wash U is an easy drive or cabfare away.
We will certainly return to Casa Magnolia, and will recommend it to all our friends traveling to St. Louis.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Seth A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaMagnolia, Owner at Casa Magnolia Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Thank you so much for your detailed review. We really enjoyed your visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
46
57
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed April 26, 2013

On a spring visit to the gorgeous Missouri Botanical Garden, we stayed here because it was close, but we would stay here again even without the Garden. We received a warm and thoughtful welcome from the moment we arrived. Our kind host was fun to visit with and supplied helpful, accurate advice about where to find a bite for supper, a beer, or both. We admired the furnishings and collectibles and devoured the great Spanish omelets.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joan503Beck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaMagnolia, Owner at Casa Magnolia Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words. But it is really our wondeful guests, like you and your family, what makes this adventure well worth it. Muchas gracias.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We stayed here while attending our son's baby's christening nearby. We frequently stay at B&B's and this was our favorite ever. The king bed room was beautiful, big, and comfortable. We spent 3 hours talking to Jordy and Lillibet the first morning so that should tell you something about the quality of the breakfast and their hospitality. The other two breakfast were also long because of good conversation. The pool is lovely and refreshing. We hope that our son's house is full on other occasions so we can stay here.

Room Tip: All good. Queen bed rooms have private baths. The king bed room has a spacious bath across the hal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BetsyBeau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level 6 Contributor
348 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2012

My son, friend, and I were again in the St. Louis area for tennis tournaments. This B&B is right by the Botanical Gardens, just minutes by car to the Central West End and the beautiful Forest Park with it's fabulous zoo and museums. Instead of staying at the Chase Plaza Hotel as usual, I booked at Casa Magnolia, since I needed three rooms.. What a pleasure! We felt immediately at home and the guys enjoyed discussing tennis with Jordi while also enjoying an amazing breakfast (Spanish frittata, fresh fruit, bacon, toast, and more!). Our rooms were so comfortable, the hosts so welcoming, and the patio and pool in the back garden so lovely, that we will definitely make this our "home" whenever in St. Louis.

Another plus, on the practical side, is that there is plenty of street parking available. We were always able to park right in front of the house, just making sure it was not street cleaning day. The huge park across the street is great for a walk or jog, and "The Hill" is also just a few minutes away by car. I used the YMCA every day; it's on the Hill, so close and convenient. During the warm weather months there is a Farmer's Market on Saturday mornings, and yoga in the park at 9 am (behind the Farmer's Market) - no charge, just donations.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara_Antle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, TN
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2012

One of the more affordable B&Bs near downtown St. Louis, and we found it to be one of the best. The hosts are terrific and provided great conversation at breakfast. We stayed in the king bedroom, which I recommend even though your personal bathroom is right across the hall (not a problem). Nice, big pool out back perfect for a hot summer stay. Four dishes at every breakfast: fresh cut fruit, fresh breads, egg dish or pancakes, bacon/sausage. Delicious! Location across from a big park and 10-15 min. drive from Busch Stadium.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JeffL1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2012

We stayed at Casa Magnolia the night before my daughter's wedding. We were just looking for a place where all the bridesmaids could get ready without too much chaos. WHAT a great place. Sat out at the pool the night before and RELAXED. Jordy and Lillabet were such great hosts. Everything was so easy for us.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Missouri
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2012

We celebrated our 40th anniversary at Casa Magnolia and had a wonderful time. It is only about 10 blocks from the entrance to the Missouri Botanical Garden; a very pleasant walk. The breakfasts are great - fresh fruit to start and then enough food to last all day! Lillabet and Jordy are great hosts. We plan to go back again sometime.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint Louis hotels
Forest Park
Home2 Suites by Hilton St. Louis / Forest Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Drury Inn St. Louis at Union Station
The Chase Park Plaza
#40 of 120 in Saint Louis
1,104 reviews
Downtown
Magnolia Hotel St. Louis
Magnolia Hotel St. Louis
#6 of 120 in Saint Louis
787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Magnolia Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Magnolia Bed & Breakfast

Property: Casa Magnolia Bed & Breakfast
Address: 4171 Magnolia Ave, Saint Louis, MO 63110-3962
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis > Shaw
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Saint Louis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Magnolia is a beautiful Victorian home in the historic Shaw neighborhood in St. Louis, Missouri. The house was built in 1906 and overlooks exquisite Tower Grove Park, a historical landmark created and designed by Henry Shaw, who also founded the Missouri Botanical Garden in 1868, which is located less than a mile from Casa Magnolia and attracts visitors from all over the world.The three bedrooms are located on the second floor, along with a sitting room complete with a fireplace and plenty of books!The bedrooms of Casa Magnolia are beautifully decorated, and each one has its own unique character. The King Bedroom has a beautiful view of historic Tower Grove Park, while both of the Queen Bedrooms overlook the backyard patio and swimming pool. All three rooms have a private bath and free wireless internet access.A full breakfast is served every morning, which includes fresh fruit, home made pastries, home made jellies, a main dish (such as casserole, omelet, puff pastry or pancakes) and side dishes, served with juice and your choice of coffee or tea.Lillabet and Jordi, innkeepers of Casa Magnolia B&B, "your home-away-from-home" ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing