We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful home, pleasant stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Saint Louis
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa Magnolia Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 26 Saint Louis B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 5, 2012

We celebrated our 40th anniversary at Casa Magnolia and had a wonderful time. It is only about 10 blocks from the entrance to the Missouri Botanical Garden; a very pleasant walk. The breakfasts are great - fresh fruit to start and then enough food to last all day! Lillabet and Jordy are great hosts. We plan to go back again sometime.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (144)
There are newer reviews for Casa Magnolia Bed & Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

136 - 142 of 144 reviews

Reviewed June 3, 2012

We visited Casa Magnolia last summer and had a fantastic trip. The owners are friendly. The home is in a great location walking distance to the botanical gardens. The breakfast was delicious with a variety of options (even for me the vegetarian). They even have a pool in the back! We will certainly stay there again the next time we visit!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yogastevi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2012

We stayed at Casa Magnolia for three days in May. The proprietors, Jordy Felix and Lillabet Pop are generous and hospitable hoteliers who seem to enjoy making their guests feel at home and feeding them well. The breakfasts are first rate with freshly made fresh fruit salad as a starter every morning followed by several (yes, several) courses that include fresh baked coffee cakes or pancakes made from scratch and such. Jordy, a native Spaniard, made an authentic potato tortilla on one morning. If you don't have a big appetite, let them know when you arrive and they'll accommodate you. The house is a grand 1860s brick Victorian with ample bedrooms. Ours had a private bath and faced the backyard garden with huge built-in swimming pool--a necessity during the torrid St. Louis summers. One of the best things about Casa Magnolia is that it faces beautiful Shaw park and adjoining world-class botanical gardens. We'll be back.

Room Tip: All three rooms were spotless and well appointed. We liked the one that faces the backyard. The one...
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julia702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2012

First visit was in 2009, We were so impressed we just recently returned for yet again another wonderful weekend in St. Louis. Casa Magnolia is centrally located and a short drive to downtown. Jordi and Lilibet are very helpful with directions and suggestions on local dining, sightseeing venues, as well as entertainment options. The house is beautiful and spotless and the breakfast never disappoints. WE RECOMMEND CASA MAGNOLIA VERY HIGHLY AND PLAN TO VISIT AGAIN SOON! Luis and Naida

Room Tip: no fitness center to rate
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank luis g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2011

Casa Magnolia is the most comfortable, inviting and gorgeous place to stay in Saint Louis. It is run by Jordi Felix and his wife Lillabet Pop. Once you have stayed here, you will not want to stay anywhere else. It is tastefully decorated in turn-of the century antiques and spotlessly clean. The bed and breakfast has a distinctly European feel to it, as Jordi is from Spain. Our room had a majestic king bed that looked over Tower Park. In the morning we woke to wonderful smells of coffee and homemade breakfast. The guests sit together at a large table and the owners, Jordi and Lillabet, serve fresh cut fruit salad for starters. Jordi served his specialty which was a delicious Spanish omelette made with potatoes.We were visiting Saint Louis for a family tragedy so we were grateful to Jordi and Lillabet for providing us with everything we needed. Jordi made phone calls for us, drew numerous maps and even drove us to the hospital where my brother was staying. I can't wait to go back to Casa Magnolia for a real vacation! It's worth a trip to Saint Louis just to stay there.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cmp90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2011

The Casa Magnolia is a beautiful and peaceful location fronting on Shaw Park, an area of St. Louis that we were previously unfamiliar with.
After some initial confusion--the king room does not have a private bath while the two smaller queen rooms do--we settled down for a comfortable and peaceful evening followed by an ample and tasty breakfast.

Room Tip: The king room is more spacious, but its bathroom is across the hall. If that is not an issue, then p...
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ghost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaMagnolia, Owner at Casa Magnolia Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2013

Thank you for your kind review. Just to clarify, all our rooms are offered at the same price: $125 a night for single or double occupancy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2008

I stayed at the Casa Magnolia in St. Louis, Missouri on July 5-7, 2008 and would definitely stay there again. It is the only B & B I found that seemed to be centrally located to various attractions, so I could either walk or take a short drive to see everything I wanted to see. It is located across from Beautiful Tower Park (lots of walkers and runners) in a beautiful and safe neighborhood of stately old homes. Missouri Botannical Gardens is within walking distance and I highly recommend visiting there, but allow enough time as it is enormous! I took a short drive to visit the Arch (get there early before 9 and you'll have no problem with lines) and also to Forest Park. Forest Park is where the zoo, art museum, and history museum are located, and they are all FREE! Casa Magnolia is also very close to "The Hill" which is renowned for great Italian restaurants. But the best thing about Casa Magnolia is the breakfast! Both mornings I stayed there the first course was a big bowl of cut-up assorted fruit with a tasty sweet pudding-like sauce on top. The fruit was strawberries, banannas, kiwi, pineapple, grapes and probably more I just can't remember. All freshly cut! A wonderful home-made pastry was also served, along with a goblet of orange juice, and of course coffee, which was absolutely fantastic! Then came the main course which was a type of light, fluffy, pastry filled with ham and egg. Mmmmmmm...it was good! I could not eat the seconds that were offered. I sat at the table (elegantly set) with a family from Des Moines, Iowa, and enjoyed the stimulating conversation. The second day the same type of fruit was served, and also a home-made sweet bread with cream cheese and assorted jellies. The main dish was a spanish potato omelette I can't remember the name of but I'll always remember the taste of! It was served with hot sauce, on the side. One of the owners, Jordi, is from Spain and is a delightful character. His wife, Lillibet, sat and talked with me the second day as I was the only guest at breakfast that day, and it felt like talking with my sister. She was a very nice and beaufiful woman. Casa Magnolia also has a great pool that I took advantage of late one evening around 11:30 to relax after a long day at the Arch, the Zoo, and the Botannical Gardens! No long list of rules with early pool closings like hotels, a very comfy bed, and a decor you can feel at home in. Very eclectic. All in all, I don't think you'll find a more centrally located and reasonably priced B & B in St. Louis that would be as pleasing as Casa Magnolia!

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank grateful_day
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint Louis hotels
Forest Park
Home2 Suites by Hilton St. Louis / Forest Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Drury Inn St. Louis at Union Station
The Parkway Hotel
#30 of 121 in Saint Louis
583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Magnolia Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Magnolia Bed & Breakfast

Address: 4171 Magnolia Ave, Saint Louis, MO 63110-3962
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis > Shaw
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Saint Louis
Price Range: $125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Magnolia is a beautiful Victorian home in the historic Shaw neighborhood in St. Louis, Missouri. The house was built in 1906 and overlooks exquisite Tower Grove Park, a historical landmark created and designed by Henry Shaw, who also founded the Missouri Botanical Garden in 1868, which is located less than a mile from Casa Magnolia and attracts visitors from all over the world.The three bedrooms are located on the second floor, along with a sitting room complete with a fireplace and plenty of books!The bedrooms of Casa Magnolia are beautifully decorated, and each one has its own unique character. The King Bedroom has a beautiful view of historic Tower Grove Park, while both of the Queen Bedrooms overlook the backyard patio and swimming pool. All three rooms have a private bath and free wireless internet access.A full breakfast is served every morning, which includes fresh fruit, home made pastries, home made jellies, a main dish (such as casserole, omelet, puff pastry or pancakes) and side dishes, served with juice and your choice of coffee or tea.Lillabet and Jordi, innkeepers of Casa Magnolia B&B, "your home-away-from-home" ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing