We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A neat place to visit”

Soulard Farmers Market
Ranked #41 of 258 things to do in Saint Louis
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Soulard Market is the oldest farmers market west of the Mississippi established in 1779 and is open Wednesday-Saturday. We have 13 local farmers, 1 organic farmer, a florist and spice shop, lots of food and a bunch of produce vendors that handle local and shipped in goods. The market also carries a variety of other general merchandise like shirts, jewelry, incense, sports memorabilia, hand made soaps, carpet, photography and hand made crafts. We are open 52 weeks a year.
Manito, Illinois, United States
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A neat place to visit”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

My family likes to visit Soulard on our trips to St. Louis. There is not only an abundance of produce, but they like the food, musicians and the variety of other vendors at the market. If you go, take a cooler because you will want to bring home some of the amazing produce.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    62
    14
    11
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Jackson, Tennessee
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A bit of everything”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Went to the market just to browse and was very impressed with
the variety of goods. You can buy everything from a homegrown
tomato to a fire bellied toad. Bought my first St Louis Gooey Butter Cake, a party for your taste buds. Fun place with a lot of history.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centralia, MO
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
55 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Don't go on Friday....”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We love going to Soulard Market and getting produce, plants, meat and whatever. But we went on July 5 and were a little disappointed. Produce seemed over priced and many vendors were not there. We will go again and be sure to go on Saturday when the place is hopping!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tracy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
66 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Great way to spend a Saturday morning in StL”
Reviewed July 6, 2013

A visit to Soulard market is a fairly regular Saturday morning excursion for me and my husband. It's in a wonderful neighborhood with shops and restaurants ( be sure to check out one for breakfast or lunch while you are shopping in the area) and beautiful streets for strolling up and down.

As other reviewers have mentioned there are a ton of options available in the market. My recommendation is to walk through the whole thing before making any purchases. After going a few times its pretty easy to figure out who has the best local produce. I try to stick with the local farmers as there are many stands that just purchase produce from wholesales and bring it to the market. The items at those stands seem to be on their last leg often times.

Whether you are doing your grocery shopping here or just looking for a great way to spend a Saturday morning while visiting StL take a stroll through the market. It will be a great time.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank RabidVacationer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carbondale, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great food at reasonable prices”
Reviewed July 4, 2013

Soulard Farmers Market continues to offer great produce for the past 200+ years. My wife's father and grandfather had a stand at market for over 100 years. We enjoy our visit in June 2013 to visit and interact with the vendors and to purchase some food items.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank KeenKutter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Soulard Farmers Market also viewed

 

Been to Soulard Farmers Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing