We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fun place” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Saint Louis Science Center

Saint Louis Science Center
Ranked #13 of 253 things to do in Saint Louis
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: With the mission "to ignite and sustain lifelong science and technology learning", the Saint Louis Science Center is one of the top five science centers in the United States, and has been named one of the Top 10 Science Centers for Families by Parents Magazine and one of America's most visited museums by Forbes Traveler Magazine. The complex includes over 56,000 sq-ft of interactive science-technology exhibits that are part of the Science Center's free general admission. Opening in June 2016 is GROW, a one-acre outdoor exhibit that will take visitors on a journey of food, to gain a deeper understanding of our food supply. The Science Center's ticketed areas include the OMNIMAX, a four-story IMAX Dome theater; the James S. McDonnell Planetarium, one of the world's largest planetariums; and the Discovery Room, an activity area for families with younger children.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Wheelchair access, Activities for young children, Food available for purchase, Bathroom facilities, Lockers / storage, Stairs / elevator
Davenport, Iowa
Level Contributor
83 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Fun place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014

A lot of really cool hands on things to see and do. Just way too many kids the day we went! It's free to go inside you do have to pay 10 bucks to park though.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lisa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,007 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    551
    303
    119
    27
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Anabel, Missouri, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“It's fun and free!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2014

My four year old had a great time. There was a lot there for her to do and I would like to take her back when she is school aged for more learning. It was free admission and we parked at the planetarium for free parking. Great time all around!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank 1987mmg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Illinois
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Build an Arch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2014

My daughter loves going to build the arch, walk over I-64, and see the dinosaurs. Recommend taking a few hours to visit - free admission, parking $10.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murfreesboro, Tennessee
Level Contributor
47 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great time for kids”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2014

This Science Center is a great addition to add to your itinerary if you are going to St. Louis with children. There are a lot of exhibits varying from many different scientific fields. There were also a lot of different "shows" on science. All this for the cost of free admission. The museum is clean, the staff is courteous. They have a deli, and a nice gift shop to grab a souvenir for a fair price for the little ones as you exit. Great trip...loads of fun for the kids and very budge friendly.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jacquie-David
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Charles, Missouri
Level Contributor
58 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Jerusalem”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

We'd been waiting for the opportunity to see this movie at the SLSC Imax for some time, so it was with no small amount of anticipation that we arrived on New Years Eve. We'd already procured the tickets online so we breezed through the entrance thinking how cool we were. Well, we learned only the 'Fonz can be cool. There was a line extending around both entrance doors. OK, no problem. We got in line and waited patiently as all good citizens should. This is where it started going south. I'm going to guess since it was the holiday, only junior staff members had to work. An usher/ticket taker encouraged several attendees to move to the other door, then proceeded to let all those people in while not opening the original door. HUH? So everyone who had waited the longest got in last. So not cool! On to the movie. I'm not sure I know exactly what I was expecting, but whatever it was, this wasn't it. The camera work was 'OK'. The structure and plot of the movie seemed to focus on holidays celebrated by different religions who live there (albeit not always peacefully) with a little history thrown in for appearance's sake. Maybe I'm too prejudiced, I was looking for more history and less holiday. In fairness, there were some pretty good scenes of the neighborhoods, but not enough to get a sense of what the city is really like. I wouldn't recommend it, but if for nothing else, it's worth going to remind us that we can live together in a harmonious society if we really try.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank ValleyJet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saint Louis Science Center also viewed

 

Been to Saint Louis Science Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing