We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Kind of boring”

Saint Louis Science Center
Ranked #14 of 254 things to do in Saint Louis
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: With the mission "to ignite and sustain lifelong science and technology learning", the Saint Louis Science Center is one of the top five science centers in the United States, and has been named one of the Top 10 Science Centers for Families by Parents Magazine and one of America's most visited museums by Forbes Traveler Magazine. The complex includes over 56,000 sq-ft of interactive science-technology exhibits that are part of the Science Center's free general admission. Opening in June 2016 is GROW, a one-acre outdoor exhibit that will take visitors on a journey of food, to gain a deeper understanding of our food supply. The Science Center's ticketed areas include the OMNIMAX, a four-story IMAX Dome theater; the James S. McDonnell Planetarium, one of the world's largest planetariums; and the Discovery Room, an activity area for families with younger children.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities, Stairs / elevator, Activities for young children, Lockers / storage, Food available for purchase
Cape Coral, Florida
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Kind of boring”
Reviewed October 25, 2011

Expected more hands-on activities. You really need to be super into science to find this entertaining. Some thing were cool like holding a real brain and the sky bridge. We got in free because it was science fest but it was barely worth the $9.00 to park. Underwhelming to say the least.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank stephanie d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,060 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    577
    319
    128
    29
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Carmel, Indiana
Level Contributor
154 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great hands on experience”
Reviewed October 23, 2011

We had a great time at the museum and couldn't believe this was another free museum. Make sure to park on the planetarium side where parking is free.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank AJR2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olathe, Kansas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“OUTSTANDING SCIENCE MUSEUM”
Reviewed October 19, 2011

This is a great place for all ages. It is free but there are options for extra attractions. Trust me you don't need them or have time for them. We all enjoyed this attractions with hands on learning, building and the guy who was giving the demonstration in the science lab was erally fun. We only had a few hours and could have easily spent all day here. The planetarium was so cool yet we had to rush thru it due to time constraints. Great attraction!!!

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank momoftwo2257
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford, Michigan
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“A great (FREE) hands-on museum that kids of all ages will enjoy”
Reviewed October 14, 2011

The St. Louis Science Center is another jewel that is offered FREE to all visitors. You can easily spend 4-5 hours here if you want, or you could combine it with a 1/2 day at the St. Louis Zoo, which is also FREE. Lots of fun experiential learning for kids of all ages and an IMAX theater which is sure to amaze you.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
Thank RAINKIR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
166 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Incredible amounts of free learning!”
Reviewed August 31, 2011

We absolutely fell in love with the St. Louis Science Center. This amazing free attraction will fill at least five hours of family time. We ended up paying $9 for parking, but skipped all of the other paid exhibits (we felt that $17/person was a bit steep for a single exhibit).

Even without springing for the extras, there were plenty of things to see. After arriving, we were just in time to catch a drama-based demonstration of Civil War surgery. The presenter dressed and spoke as if he were on the front lines while explaining the process of battlefield surgery. Most of our party sat in the chairs provided, but there was a math blocks area nearby which occupied my toddler while I listened.

My teenager loved the free 20-minute presentations about weather, temperature, and brains that were held in the main atrium. The staff presenters were kind enough to stay afterwards and chat with him for a few minutes. (The element stools in that spot are really neat!)

Parents should be aware that there's a Build-a-Dino (Build-a-Bear) shop on the ground floor, next to the restrooms. I knew in advance and routed my kids around it to preemptively stop any asking for pricey toys. You may wish to use other restrooms for the same reason. We did make use of the locker storage (.25) on the same floor. Great for not lugging around purses and diaper bags.

Everyone loved the technology area. The laser harp was a favorite. We, unfortunately, didn't notice that there was a toddler area until it was nearly time to leave. Looking in the window (tickets are required), I'm sure he would have stayed there for hours. We'll have to go back to finish all that we missed!

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank taragl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saint Louis Science Center also viewed

 

Been to Saint Louis Science Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing