We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Went on Memorial Day”

Jefferson Barracks Historic Park
Ranked #38 of 254 things to do in Saint Louis
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: When established in 1826, this was the largest military base in the U.S., which serves today as a national cemetery.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
145 reviews
59 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Went on Memorial Day”
Reviewed March 23, 2013

The setting is very pretty. The views of the river are very dramatic and the rolling hills are lovely, a fitting setting for our nation's bravest. When we went, we saw some people dressed in reenactment uniforms walking throughout the gravestones.

Helpful?
Thank THD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    24
    9
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“elatives are buried here.”
Reviewed January 20, 2013

My family lives in the park area so I'm there quite often. The park itself is beautiful and very clean. Great place to picnic and walk. The cemetary is a wonderful place to walk too! Lot of history in this park including the cemetary

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank SusieSevier-Zalaudek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
60 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“so many reindeers were there”
Reviewed January 10, 2013

remembering my grandpa and the only thing that made me smile that day is hearing my neice ask me to look at all the reindeer. and there were a lot of them. this place is always peaceful.

Helpful?
Thank M R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Running Trail”
Reviewed December 6, 2012

The running trail in Jefferson Barracks Historic Park is a hilly trail, perfect for short run days. You will probably see deer during your run!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jamie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful and historic”
Reviewed November 19, 2012

This is a beautiful park and if ever in the sSaint Louis area I highly recommend a visit. The historic nature alone makes this park a must stop.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank dshendry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jefferson Barracks Historic Park also viewed

 

Been to Jefferson Barracks Historic Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing