We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 8:00 AM - 4:30 PM
  
Ways to Experience Old Courthouse
Reviews (1,020)
Filter reviews
1,020 results
Traveler rating
536
392
81
8
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
536
392
81
8
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews dred scott beautiful building arch tickets supreme court court room great history lots of history the national park service piece of history gift shop historical significance civil war american history louis history purchase tickets history lesson worth a stop
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 1,020 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The Old Courthouse is in close proximity to the Gateway Arch, which will be what drives most people to the area. While you're there, I'd highly advise taking more than a passing glance at this building. It is an impressive structure and is full of history.

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank bruce722
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The rotunda in this courthouse is gorgeous! Lots if history, particularly concerning slavery trials held there many years ago....a DO NOT MISS trip while you are in St. Louis!

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank Cruiser144215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

A well preserved courthouse of historical significance both in the decisions related to settling the western part of the United States and the Dred Scott decision that pre-dated and started the debates that led to the Civil War. If only the walls could talk! The staff were friendly and knowledgeable so they did the talking for us modern visitors. A well preserved dignified building.

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank cecimino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2019

The Old Courthouse is part of the Gateway Arch National park, which is far more famous for the Arch itself. However, the Old Courthouse is a separate attraction (although located very nearby). Admission is free. This courthouse was made famous by the Dred Scott case, which was heard here. There is a movie and a small exhibit on the case. There are additional exhibitions on the first floor. You are able to see a couple of the old courtrooms, and enjoy the beautiful architecture and paintings.

We went in mid-August, but apparently the summer help for the Park Service had already departed to go back to school which meant no docent-led tours. If you want a tour, I would definitely call ahead and see if they are offered.

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank KDAA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2019 via mobile

We were very impressed with the Old Courthouse. The park service rangers were very helpful and answered a number of questions that we had although we did not go on a formal tour.

The building itself is notable for its design and the exhibits are very well done. We watched a video on the Lewis and Clark expedition and another video on the Dred Scott case that was quite informative and moving. It was heartbreaking to see the injustices perpetrated against other individuals, allegedly in relation to the law but actually in the service of politics. The parallels with our current court system were also striking.

Overall, we were very glad we visited and would highly recommend it.

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank LotsaTraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews