We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expertly crafted exhibits.”

Museum of Westward Expansion
Ranked #69 of 258 things to do in Saint Louis
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This museum chronicles the hardships encountered during the overland migration of the 19th century, which shaped the American West.
Fitchburg, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
576 reviews
289 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 281 helpful votes
“Expertly crafted exhibits.”
Reviewed February 23, 2013

My wife and I visited the Museum of Western Expansion on our first evening in St Louis. It is filled with great exhibits about the Louisiana Purchase and our countries history. It is large enough that you don’t feel cramped by the number of people that pass though it daily. The only thing I didn’t like was how it was set up. I didn’t know which way I was supposed to go and it didn’t seem to go in any particular order. The exhibits are expertly crafted, which makes up for the layout. A great free attraction under one of our nation’s greatest architectural attractions.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank JesseWhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    33
    27
    12
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Buford, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
73 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Go west, young people!”
Reviewed February 14, 2013

This is in the base of the Arch. It's a really neat museum about the Oregon Trail and how the settlers travelled. There are lots of photos and replicated items. And, it's free!

Helpful?
1 Thank slabeaume
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Don't miss it”
Reviewed November 25, 2012 via mobile

We are a family of 4 traveling with a 6 and 8 year old. We had a great time. If you have a love of history you could easily spend hours and hours here. The kids enjoyed the displays and there is an extensive amount of info about the Lewis and Clark experience. Definitely a must see especially if you road school. Happy travels.

Helpful?
Thank Ninac1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakenheath, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“set up is confusing”
Reviewed November 19, 2012

This museum gives a quick glimpse of western expansion. The set up was a little confusing but we were still able to see everything and the displays were very nice. This museum is UNDER the arch - so looking at a map, it doesn't really show you that. It's pretty easy to figure out though once you get to the arch. Museum is free - always nice :)

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank KMSecrist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakenheath
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Well Executed Museum”
Reviewed November 19, 2012

We visited the MoWE in November 2012 after seeing the Gateway Arch. The MoWE is actually located under the arch itself, in an underground facility. Security takes quite a while, as it is considered a national park. The security is run by Park Rangers who are nice, but take their time processing visitors.

Inside the complex is the MoWE itelf, which is arranged in a multilayered series of concentric circles, all dealing with different themes or time periods. All of the exhibits are modern and well-maintained. We learned quite a bit about the time period and location. Great experience overall.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Benjamin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Museum of Westward Expansion also viewed

 

Been to Museum of Westward Expansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing