We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go on Wednesdays for FREE!”

Missouri Botanical Garden
Ranked #2 of 254 things to do in Saint Louis
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Missouri Botanical Garden in St. Louis was founded in 1859 by Henry Shaw. Today, the Garden is a National Historic Landmark and a center for science, conservation, education and horticultural display - widely considered one of the top three botanical gardens in the world. It features 79 acres of horticultural displays, including indoor conservatories and demonstration, formal and international gardens.
Useful Information: Food available for purchase, Activities for older children, Activities for young children, Bathroom facilities, Stairs / elevator, Wheelchair access
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Go on Wednesdays for FREE!”
Reviewed November 1, 2013

We have a membership to the Missouri Botanical Garden, but before we could afford it, we went on Wednesday and Saturday mornings because it's FREE! It's one of the best spots in town to take photos. We have three girls (7, 8, and 12) and they all love visiting - it never gets old!

Even if you've visited before, there's always something new to see, find, or do. It's a great place to take the family, and out of town guests are always impressed when we take them.

Definitely a must-see when you're in St. Louis!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sadie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,372 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,906
    391
    52
    13
    10
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Gorgeous Gardens and Exquisite Landscaping”
Reviewed November 1, 2013

The Missouri Botanical Gardens are magical and gorgeous!! The property is meticulously cared for, landscaping stunning! They have terrific parking, outstanding events, and great personnel on hand to answer questions. The gardens are very eye pleasing and beautiful! This is one of my favorite places to go in the United States and it is a must see attraction in the city of St. Louis, Missouri. I love their calendars, too, pretty and they have large squares for writing events/appointments, etc...If you visit this historic city, don't miss the gardens; it will be time well spent. The last time that I attended an event there, we were able to purchase fantastic home made offerings from honey and wine, to baked goods, beer, clothing, plants and other assorted items. It was fun :)

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lise G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Take time to smell the flowers!”
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Took a leisurely walk with friends through the gardens. Very picturesque. Halloween in the air. Lots of families and kiddos dressed in costumes. Gift shop is Awesome!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank tvl1class
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
42 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice place”
Reviewed October 27, 2013

If you like plants, you'll enjoy this place. I went there with my 19 year old son so that we could walk around. I needed to stretch my legs.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank JonDkinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
38 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Missouri's Botanical Gardens”
Reviewed October 26, 2013

An investment that will pay dividends for years, the MBG in St. Louis has history, breadth in scope, and an extremely earnest program for the future. We should all count ourselves fortunate for the
opportunity to experience this dedication to the art and science of botany.
Commit the better part of a day to fully appreciate and revel in the majesty of this site. Bravo St. Louis!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank RGWink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Missouri Botanical Garden also viewed

 

Been to Missouri Botanical Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing