We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience”
Review of City Museum

City Museum
Ranked #4 of 258 things to do in Saint Louis
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Don't take the name so literally. We're about fun. Not your white walls, walk around, and be quiet museum. If you want to climb around, get active with your kids or are a big kid at heart, we're the place. If you get freaked out easily, you might not want to come. We're four floors filled with miles of tunnels, a full cave system, over 30 slides, a circus, an arts area, a large outdoor climbing space, Architectural Museum, a Cabin that serves adult beverages, a Museum of Mayhem, Mirth and Mystery, and a ton more. Also, there's the roof with a Ferris Wheel and a bus hanging off its edge.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Nassau, New Providence Island
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great Experience”
Reviewed November 3, 2013

The City Museum is a great attraction.. It is fun for the whole family.. There are a ton of activities to keep everyone occupied. It is a very cool spot to visit and I highly recommend it!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenny0124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,127 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4,099
    700
    199
    65
    64
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mocksville, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Come with plenty of energy”
Reviewed November 2, 2013

This is a great place to spend a few hours. Their website does not do the place justice. There are all sorts of inside and outside activities. We took my daughter 11 and a family friend 19. I would recommend this place for kids over 5 years old. I say this because the place is so big and there is lots of climbing. I am afraid that smaller kids might be overwhelmed. We stayed about 2 hours and we're completely worn out. There is a cafe in the museum that serves all types of food. We did not eat there but it smelled wonderful.

Be sure to wear comfortable clothes and tennis shoes.

I would not recommend this place for anyone with disabilities. There is lots of stairs and no elevator that I saw.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank CraverFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dudley, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Be a big kid at the City Museum”
Reviewed November 2, 2013

We went to St Louis for a few days as it was part of our road trip honeymoon. The City Museum was fantastic. We're from England and sometimes I feel like we don't have as much fun as Americans. I think the City Museum proved that theory! It's a quirky, eclectic mix and you have to get stuck in. It's great for children, teenagers and adult.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mesbah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Box Elder, South Dakota
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Such Fun in a Funny Place”
Reviewed October 28, 2013 via mobile

Do you like eclectic, quirky places? The St. Louis City Museum is just right for you! From the art and activity in the parking lot to the puking pig on the first floor and rotating exhibits upstairs, the City Museum is a treat. The brainchild of one man, art and science and fun combine to make this a destination for everyone from young to old. Plan to spend a couple of hours (food can be purchased here) and enjoy yourself!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank WildwoodCorgis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Wonderfully creative and original”
Reviewed October 27, 2013

There's nothing quite like the City Museum - at least that we know of. What a great concept: salvage historical pieces of St. Louis and repurpose them into an industrial playground for kids that teaches creativity, history, re-use and courage. Children can enjoy challenges with a sense of danger. resulting in a feeling of accomplishment. BUT - accept the fact that there might be a bump or bruise along the way. The place is not really for adults who are 1) not in good shape, 2) older than 50, 3) impatient, and/or 4) open-minded. It's a huge warehouse that is being added to every year. There are some open areas that are works-in-progress, but every year they add more. The City Museum is a St. Louis treasure.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank piperdoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed City Museum also viewed

 

Been to City Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing