We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A creative place to have fun” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of City Museum

City Museum
Ranked #4 of 253 things to do in Saint Louis
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Don't take the name so literally. We're about fun. Not your white walls, walk around, and be quiet museum. If you want to climb around, get active with your kids or are a big kid at heart, we're the place. If you get freaked out easily, you might not want to come. We're four floors filled with miles of tunnels, a full cave system, over 30 slides, a circus, an arts area, a large outdoor climbing space, Architectural Museum, a Cabin that serves adult beverages, a Museum of Mayhem, Mirth and Mystery, and a ton more. Also, there's the roof with a Ferris Wheel and a bus hanging off its edge.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Meade, Kansas
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A creative place to have fun”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

This museum is the most unique place I have ever been! There are hundreds or thousands of different things to see and do. It is an excellent way to spend the day. The only downfall is that our car got broken into while parked on the street beside the parking lot. The parking lot itself was full when we got there. Even though you don't really want to have to carry your purse around in the museum, I think that there are lockers inside that you can rent. Don't leave valuables in your car!! The staff at the museum was plentiful and they were beyond helpful when our car window was shattered. They took our car to their garage and put plastic and cardboard over the window so the rain wouldn't come in. I hope to visit this museum again someday.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sharon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,723 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,775
    642
    183
    61
    62
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
33 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very fun but wear tennis shoes”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013 via mobile

We (adults) had a lot of fun exploring this place. I made the mistake of wearing flip flops and toting a somewhat bulky purse because I wasn't really aware of what this place was. If you plan to explore and climb then wear tennis shoes and a small or no purse. They don't give out maps so don't ask or look for one, just go explore. The rooftop was neat and less crowded but there is certainly plenty to do on the other floors so don't feel like you have to spend the extra money unless you want to see the views. This is a great place for older kids and adults who are young at heart... Less to do if you are afraid of heights or claustrophobic.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Carrie3324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blairsville, Georgia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“More Playground than Museum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

Our family of eight, ranging in age from 3 to 64, all found something to love here. We went sliding, splunking, ball pit diving, painting, ferris wheeling and more. Good ideas to bring: small flashlights for the cave area, knee pads and gloves for oldster climbing, and cell phones to find each other when the maze you are crawling through gets you separated from the rest of your party.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank jackievolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arkansas
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Time”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

We had eight people in our party and all enjoyed it. Be prepared to get a great workout, and a few bruises along the way. We had kids form ages 9-19 so we had older ones to help keep up with the younger ones. If I had very young kids I would be a little scared of getting separated from them in the caves. Six of us paid to go on the roof, and two the aquarium. We had less fun on the roof then in the rest of the museum. The bus was neat, and one slide up there was good. The two that went to the aquarium said it was dirty, and not worth it at all. So my advice is to not pay for the extras, wear knee pads, expect to bump your head a few times, bring germ ex, and plan on a great and exhausting time.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank kdt74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wentzville, Missouri, Usa
Level Contributor
125 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“No better place to have fun”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

Bring our group and have the time of our life or just your kids and you will always find new places to explore. The food cafe is very satisfying and no matter how many times you come you will always find new places to explore. WARNING, not for those that don't like tight places. A lot of tight fits and I'm 230 lbs and can get through all places but if our not a fan of tight fits just sit in cafe and enjoy the food and people.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank warrenwb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed City Museum also viewed

 

Been to City Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing