We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Interesting historical site with lots to see.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of St. Louis Union Station

St. Louis Union Station
Ranked #5 of 49 Shopping in Saint Louis
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Built in 1894, this massive Romanesque-style building was one of the largest train terminals in the world.
Auckland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Interesting historical site with lots to see.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

We were quite surprised at this Union Station, not really knowing what to expect... we had breakfast there and we had a very nice, slow walk through the whole site and went into almost all the shops. I bought lots of souvenirs there. Outside was also lovely, with a big lake full of carp and music playing from the Hard Rock Cafe next door. We went into the Union Station Hotel aswell, to see the grand lobby and dining room. Most impressive. Really enjoyed the day out.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Julia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

495 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    103
    123
    118
    71
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nothing exciting”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

This place isn't the coolest place in Saint Louis, that is for sure. This place seems to lose tenants everytime I stop in. I have only been a few times b/c I have never been impressed. Even the taffy store closed!! The fudge place is the most exciting thing about union station. They really need to revitalize this place.

Helpful?
Thank 208JamieLea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Interesting Station”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

We stayed at a hotel near this old station and visited it most days. Sadly there are a lot of empty and closed shops, but the ones trading are pretty good as are the places to eat. The original building and the historical displays are very interesting and well worth a visit to anyone interested in railways or US history.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank LindaC5850
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
254 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Almost dead”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

Union Station was revitalized back in the late '80s with shops, restaurants, a hotel, and a small "lake" that included paddle boats. In my first visit back in '91, it was a crowded busy place. Now, it's almost dead. Most of the restaurants are gone (the Hardrock is still out back), and there are only a few shops left. On may latest trip to STL, I walked through there... it was kind of depressing.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Scott B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very few stores”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

I cannot believe how many empty spots are in Union Station. There use to be restaurants and a lot of unique shops. Someone needs to revitilize, again!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sunshine1224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed St. Louis Union Station also viewed

 

Been to St. Louis Union Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing