We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Who ever says the best things in life aren't free has never been here!”
Review of St. Louis Zoo

St. Louis Zoo
Ranked #1 of 258 things to do in Saint Louis
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Visitors are wowed by this zoo that has 6,600 animals and 15 major exhibit areas.
Marietta, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Who ever says the best things in life aren't free has never been here!”
Reviewed December 21, 2013

I have been to may zoos but never seen one as nice as St Louis. But to find out it is all FREE is just amazing. We were in town because my husband was receiving medical treatment. With him being on disability money was tight to say the least. So when we found out that it was free we jumped at the chance to take the kids someplace fun. But we did not expect much because it was free and we could not have been more wrong.
This is a very clean zoo with a huge assortment of animal and amazing habitats. The kids absolutely loved the Penguins and puffins . You can get so close you can almost touch them. It was so big I really do not think we saw it all and plan on going back as soon as weather will allow. This is far better than the Atlanta zoo that charges 21$ for an adult.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Happy Traveler K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,621 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5,184
    1,123
    244
    53
    17
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Duluth, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 255 helpful votes
“An amazing Zoo”
Reviewed December 20, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

This Zoo is one of the best in the country, they have elephant family, and I loved walking through the aquarium. great experience. and most importantyl, it is FREE FREE!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Curly E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mill Creek, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
287 reviews
124 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“One of the best ever!!”
Reviewed December 19, 2013

One of the best zoo's we have ever been to! Not knowing what to expect during our December visit, we were pleasantly surprised on everything that we saw. Close up with most all of the animals because they were inside. Excellent layout of the grounds and the park ranger (originally from Seattle) was super helpful.

Bonus: Free admission!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gary2425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri, United States
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“friendly free and fantastic”
Reviewed December 12, 2013

Considered one, if not the best zoo in the USA. Supported by the local municiple taxes, the zoo is essentially free. There is free parking near it as it is situated in the middle of Forrest Park however because of it's popularity these spaces can go quickly, so an early morning start is best or a late afternoon visit. There are a couple of fee based things there, like the children's zoo area ( you can pet the guinea pigs,and goats, plus a bird show in the summer time), the carosel and the stingrays and shark tank (in the summer). Best to get a $10 day pass for these extras. You can buy food there, or bring in your own. Great exhibits, interpreters and docents throughout the zoo to explain and answer questions. By far the best attraction in the metro area.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Susie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wild Lights was great, despite the temperature!”
Reviewed December 10, 2013 via mobile

The zoo is always great, and usually free. Although not free, the holiday Wild Lights display is still a deal at only $5 a ticket. My daughter and I had a blast despite freezing cold temperatures the night we went. So many fun light displays! If you need to warm up for a bit, the herpetarium is open and nice and toasty.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank 1274mp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed St. Louis Zoo also viewed

 

Been to St. Louis Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing