We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Large”
Review of St. Louis Zoo

St. Louis Zoo
Ranked #1 of 255 things to do in Saint Louis
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Visitors are wowed by this zoo that has 6,600 animals and 15 major exhibit areas.
North Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
65 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Large”
Reviewed November 26, 2013

This place was great! There was so much to do and see. We only had one day and barely managed to finish it all in that time. Lots of adorable shops and delicious food vendors. The animals were many and looked well-maintained. Would recommend for anyone.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kelly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,264 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4,902
    1,065
    233
    48
    16
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
89 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“great way to spend a day”
Reviewed November 26, 2013

One of the best zoos in the country, and probably the best zoo in the world that is free to enter. The Riverwalk gets you so close to some of the animals, it's like you are in the wild with about 1000 people. Be prepared to walk up and down a lot, park is very hilly.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank disappointed60958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“st. louis zoo”
Reviewed November 26, 2013

I did'nt realize how lucky we are to have a world class zoo . The I went to some other cities (paid to get in) and saw how lucky we are to have the best zoo in the USA

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank patrizos234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“St. Louis Zoo”
Reviewed November 26, 2013

The St. Louis Zoo is one of the best I have been to. One of the great things about it is if you don't have a lot of money, it is free. The special places inside like the train and Children's zoo have a charge, but you don't have to do those to have a wonderful experience. Park on the street (come early) and unless things have changed, you can bring a cooler and have a picnic lunch. Otherwise, just as everywhere, they have plenty of food and drinks available for the usual prices. Other than food, no money will be needed unless for souvenirs.
I live here and don't visit as much as I should, but am proud of our zoo, because anyone can enjoy and visit regardless of financial situations, and it really is one of the top zoos in the USA.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank kayk600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A great free attraction! St. Louis Zoo”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

I love that you can see a lot of the St. Louis zoo for free. And it's one of the best in the country. You can park for free on the streets around the entrances. You enter for free. Most of the areas are free to visit. There are a few things that you do pay for, like the Children's Zoo and to ride the train or the Carousel, and some of the shows, but if you wanted to have a free visit you can certainly see a lot without spending any money. And the Children's zoo is free if you enter during the first hour the zoo is open. I just did an internet search for "best zoos in the US" and STL Zoo was ranked 3rd in the first 2 links that showed up.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jo H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed St. Louis Zoo also viewed

 

Been to St. Louis Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing