We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Epic!”
Review of St. Louis Zoo

St. Louis Zoo
Ranked #1 of 258 things to do in Saint Louis
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Visitors are wowed by this zoo that has 6,600 animals and 15 major exhibit areas.
California
2 reviews
“Epic!”
Reviewed March 10, 2013

We booked a behind the scenes zoo tour and I got to feed a sloth. My life is forever changed for the better. Elmo is my new bff. Samantha was a great guide and Meg who arranged the tour was so helpful. Zoo was good overall, winter is tricky because several exhibits are hibernating. Worth the effort to book a tour!!!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank lo s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,627 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5,188
    1,124
    245
    53
    17
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, Missouri
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Live and Active...”
Reviewed March 9, 2013

It was a really good day at the Zoo, all the animals were very playful well except the hippos...lol lazy things just wanted to sun bake! Although I can't blame them... it was nice to see all the animals happy and also to see them adding onto the zoo, they were building new areas and everything... Some thing to watch out for is the Penguins!!! Those silly things soaked me!!! Needless to say it was a great time!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank goofynunn95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best zoo ever. And free!”
Reviewed March 9, 2013

I have visited zoos around the world and this is one of my favorites. I recently moved to the area and live 15 minutes away. Since it's free, I go for short visits to see my favorites a couple times a month. The zoo has a detailed website where you can read about all its animals--the usual, plus some you don't often see (if ever). In spite of the free entrance, they sponsor impressive conservation projects locally in Missouri and around the world.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Anne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“One of the Best Zoos”
Reviewed March 9, 2013

I still can't get over that this zoo is free! It has a great lay out and a great variety of animals! Food is a little overpriced, but since admission is free you won't hear me complaining!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank emilypotts24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very cool”
Reviewed March 8, 2013

Walked the whole zoo with my grown children. Very nice, of course the kiosks were closed as it is winter but still a nice afternoon activity

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank e f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed St. Louis Zoo also viewed

 

Been to St. Louis Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing