We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Far and Away the Best Zoo in the US” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of St. Louis Zoo

St. Louis Zoo
Ranked #1 of 253 things to do in Saint Louis
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Visitors are wowed by this zoo that has 6,600 animals and 15 major exhibit areas.
St. Louis, MO
Level Contributor
98 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Far and Away the Best Zoo in the US”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

The St. Louis Zoo is by far the best Zoo in the US. The entire property is free to explore, and includes animals ranging from the big cats of the African plains to Penguins, Puffins, and Eider Ducks of Antarctica.

Make sure you talk to the docents spread throughout the park, as they have hands-on displays of all types for visitors young and old to explore, and are always happy to share their vast knowledge with you.

Take a detour into the Living World exhibit to explore our planet and the delicately balanced cycles that keep Mother Nature humming.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank ChrisK6884
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,025 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4,707
    1,029
    228
    45
    16
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing zoo!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

I came to St. Louis while my husband was on business, and wasn't sure what to expect from a free zoo in a city park. I only visited the Central Park Zoo in NYC once (when I lived in the city), but comparatively, this was miles ahead in depth and satisfaction! It's one of the best zoos I've ever seen. I honestly thought I'd walk around and visit the penguins and maybe a few more, but it turned out I enjoyed it so much that what I thought would be a 30 minute swing through turned into a 2 hour delight!

The weather was unseasonably warm today, and the kids were out of school for Presidents' Day, and it still wasn't that busy. I did love the penguins, but found that I spent a good amount of time in the Jungle of the Apes. They seemed to be happy, and I think it was Joe whi sat by the window and entertained all who passed by. I also spent a lot of time in the red rocks watching the kangaroos box, the giraffe chase the ostriches and the big cats growl and prowl. My final stop was at the Sea Lions, which you can now visit in the underground tunnel as they swim all around you! So cute.

LOVED this zoo! Will definitely come back some day!

Helpful?
1 Thank Raisinany1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
198 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Always fun”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

Our zoo is one of the best (if not the best) zoo's in the U.S. And it's free admission! What a deal! It is easy to walk around and of course you have to take a ride on the train/trolley. Take the kids! Even the adults will have fun!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank ElBirdos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Free!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

It was great especially considering it was free. There were some exhibits which were closed, which was disappointing, especially since we walked all the way out to some of them. Otherwise, it was great, they have a ton of penguins that you can see very close up, yay!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“An Amazing Zoo”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

This is such an amazing zoo - well organized, very interesting exhibits (don't miss the new sea lion habitat!). They are always improving the animal habitats and work closely with conservation groups. The kids love the train ride. And the best part is there is no admission charge. If you get there early you can park for free and the places that charge (the Children's Zoo, Carousel) are free the first hour the zoo is open. Or you can purchase a pass that includes admission to all the fun things to do. It's still much cheaper than most zoos. A great way to spend a day!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank FanInStLou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed St. Louis Zoo also viewed

 

Been to St. Louis Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing