We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best FREE attractions in the country!”
Review of St. Louis Zoo

St. Louis Zoo
Ranked #1 of 254 things to do in Saint Louis
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Visitors are wowed by this zoo that has 6,600 animals and 15 major exhibit areas.
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“One of the best FREE attractions in the country!”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

My husband and I make it a point to visit this zoo every year (we reside in Indiana, but are from southern Missouri). The animals' environments are always clean, made for easy viewing, and seem to keep the animals happy. Our favorite spot is either the penguins (there is no barrier between you and the animals) or the gorillas (we just love the species).

Having been to zoos all over the country, including the famous San Diego Zoo, this zoo ranks at the top of our list all around. It is big enough to spend the whole day, but arranged well enough to just hit a few "priority animals" if you only want to spend a few hours.

This zoo gets extra points for its Forest Park location. Make sure to visit the free science museum and art museum as well!

The only downside...food at the zoo is overpriced at around $10/adult for hamburgers, chili dogs, chicken strips, etc. And if you are unable to park free on the street (only a handful of spots are available), parking is $10/car.

Helpful?
Thank whitney353
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,416 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5,029
    1,083
    239
    49
    16
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Zoo-rific!”
Reviewed November 4, 2012

I been to the St. Louis zoo several times since a young lad. Now I'm taking my family there and they loved it. The Penguin exhibit was the highlight and feels great on a hot day. Compared to the Cincinnati and Columbus zoos, this is better. Seems larger and with a wider variety of animals. The grounds are large and open, unlike the compact Cincinnati zoo so you never feel too overrun with people, even on a busy day.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank cedartraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
46 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great zoo”
Reviewed November 3, 2012

Lots of animals, well laid out. Allow a full day to take it all in. The train gives you a good overview and you can get off and on at the various stops. The elephants were magnificant.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lovetotravell2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
275 reviews
84 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Enjoyable Zoo and it's free”
Reviewed November 3, 2012

Like so much that St Louis offers, the Zoo is well worth a visit and it is free, which means that we could visit more than once and enjoy seeing different bits each time. And since the Zoo is central, easily reached by public transport and close to the other attractions of Forest Park it makes for a very pleasant mix.
Our favourites? The Prairie Dogs. We could watch them all day!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank BarrieLV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dallas,tx
Level Contributor
67 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“A really nice zoo”
Reviewed November 2, 2012

The animals are visibly happy here and obviously extremely well taken care of, in contrast to some other zoos we have been to. This is definitely a zoo that St Louis takes a lot of pride in (for good reason) and it shows. Admission is free although we did pay the parking fee of $15 so as to minimize the walk (depending on when you go, the free street parking can be a bit hard to come by). I would agree that the layout of the zoo takes some getting used to, but how do you make a decent zoo that doesn't require walking? We came in the north entrance and walked for a while before we got to see an actual animal, but once we did, it was pretty much just going from one area to the next. And we did the walk with a 7 yo and a 4 yo and they managed just fine. We all had our favorite parts, but some of the highlights were the elephants (River's Edge), the wild cat section (Red Rocks) and the sea lion exhibit (you go in a tunnel under their tank and watch them playing) in Lakeside Crossing. About halfway through our time there, we ate a late lunch at the Painted Giraffe cafe at the north entrance and the food was actually quite good and not a bad price, although if you want a fountain drink, be warned that it is not free refills. There is a "train" that travels through the park but we actually tried to avoid it because it was so loud. Overall a great family day and a great zoo.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank DallasDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed St. Louis Zoo also viewed

 

Been to St. Louis Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing