We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Beautiful”
Review of St. Louis Zoo

St. Louis Zoo
Ranked #1 of 258 things to do in Saint Louis
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Visitors are wowed by this zoo that has 6,600 animals and 15 major exhibit areas.
Springfield, Missouri
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Just Beautiful”
Reviewed July 2, 2012

Such a lovely Zoo. We got to feed the stingrays and watch the bears eat. My son loved the train. The safari pass is definitely worth it!
I was disappointed that the Sea Lion Sound wasn't open during our visit. I had visited the website several times while planning our vacation and did not see that the exhibit would be closed.
Over all it was AWESOME!!!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Katherine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,610 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5,175
    1,121
    244
    53
    17
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“One of the best”
Reviewed July 2, 2012

The St Louis Zoo is one of the best zoos we have visited. We have been to zoos in several cities . To us Cincinnati and St Louis have the two best zoos we have ever been to.Cant decide which we like most.When we were there in early June they were remodeling the sea lion exhibit ,so that was closed.But we spent most of a day and really enjoyed it.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank tonyc94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland Park, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
182 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Awesome zoo!!!!”
Reviewed July 2, 2012

This place has a ton of animals!!! They are the cutest! It's big, but worth it! The food here is really good for a zoo, and the zoo itself is big. Coming here is a great way to spend your day! :)

Helpful?
Thank Summerbrieze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballymena, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A fun day out”
Reviewed July 2, 2012

Zoo is part of a large park in St Louis where you can stay all day. If you're into zoos you should like this.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jetlagged54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland, United States
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“One of my favorite zoos”
Reviewed July 2, 2012

The zoo's free admission is no reason to put it in a separate category. The zoo is free, AND it is one of the best zoos in the United States. The indoor facilities were well-maintained and well-designed, and the outdoor pens and structures were expansive and gorgeous. All of the animals were visible except the grizzlies (pen under construction), and the zookeepers and extra staff were available to explain the animals' behavior and traits. The zoo is quite large and semi-confusing to navigate, but if you don't mind walking, you will enjoy the meandering paths. My favorite exhibit was surprisingly the insectarium; the way it is set up is fun and engaging, and we were able to touch some crazy-looking bugs. The most engaging animals were definitely the monkeys. They will come right up to the glass and interact with you.

Parking is free if you park in Forest Park; parking is not free if you park in the zoo parking lots.

There is food available at every turn.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank SrP100111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed St. Louis Zoo also viewed

 

Been to St. Louis Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing