We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best BBQ I have ever had - worth the 3 hour wait” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pappy's Smokehouse

Pappy's Smokehouse
Ranked #4 of 2,874 Restaurants in Saint Louis
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Grand Center / Midtown
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
191 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Best BBQ I have ever had - worth the 3 hour wait”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2014

The pulled pork sandwich and the ribs were AMAZING. We went at an off time, but still had a 3 hour wait. The food was so tender and tasty. We loved the variety of sauces as well. It was my favorite BBQ I've ever had.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank S W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,906 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,078
    586
    191
    33
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Elkhart, Indiana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Ribs Ribs Ribs”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2014 via mobile

Try to get there by 11am no wait but if you don't, don't worry the line moves fast. This barbecue melts in your mouth? I had the ribs and my son had pulled pork, they were both absolutely delicious!
This place is wonderful. Yummy for my tummy!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jessica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
75 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Came for the experience; loved the food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2014

We came for the experience, expecting to stand in line for a while even though it was late afternoon…so worth it! The way the staff break up the line doesn't make it seem as crowded as it could feel, but then, the waiting is part of the overall experience. While we were waiting in line the staff brought out a sample rib for us to try--very tasty! Really, it's a streamlined and efficient process given the number of meals they serve and WOW is the food ever delicious! The waiting happens in the line; once you've placed your order and paid, the food is ready right away. We ordered a sampler to split between the two of us and had enough leftovers for a second meal the next day. We had ribs, pulled pork, a 1/4 chicken, and spicy sausage--wanted brisket and burnt ends but they were already sold out! The spicy sausage was the one item we could have done without, and even it wasn't terrible. We can see where the parking would get tricky in the evening --we did fine parking in the lot near the entrance; also, it is worth noting that the entrance is not the front of the building, but from the rear just off of the parking lot. This was fun and definitely a great meal!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DickandJane6986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain Home, Arkansas
Level Contributor
90 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“The food is great but the staff makes the experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2014

In a way, this place is an experience. Accept the idea that you will be standing on line up to an hour. I do not do that well but this time I'm glad I did. It moves surprisingly fast, it's just long. In this case the waiting was part of the meal. The staff went out of their way to add to our visit. Chatting, bringing out extra servings to try, (Delicious) Big sampling of brisket in our case. The staff made me feel that they really care. It's a unique place and deserves its rating. Suggest parking on street.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ron S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
60 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

Get there before opening at 11 or you will be waiting at least an hour. We arrived at 11 and there was already a line, waited 20 minutes and found a small table after ordering. Food came out in 5-10 minutes and was great. Burnt ends & turkey with applesauce and sweet potato fries, burnt ends & pulled pork with greens beans and sweet potato fries also. Excellent burnt ends and turkey, pulled pork very good. Great sauces. Love the Bluesy music too (Stevie Ray Vaugh and others). Better know what you want when you order.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bonnye H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pappy's Smokehouse also viewed

 

Been to Pappy's Smokehouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing