We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ribs were great”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Pappy's Smokehouse

Pappy's Smokehouse
Ranked #4 of 2,880 Restaurants in Saint Louis
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Special occasions, Kids, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Grand Center / Midtown
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
487 reviews
322 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“Ribs were great”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013

Eat BBQ all over, and the food here is excellent. Clearly fresh. Not the best place for a family as seating can be tough, as long as the long wait standing in line.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WarEglTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,971 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,125
    599
    195
    34
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic Flavour!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013

Recommended by a local waitress, went for supper our last night in St. Louis. Ribs were the best I have ever tasted! Didn't need sauce, but had to try some anyway. Smooth, smoky flavour, meat SOOO tender, falls off the bone. One of my cohorts had the pulled pork which received high praise also. My sides were the beans (good for your heart) and the corn on the cob. Deep fried corn; interesting flavour, carmelized sugars but not too sweet. Chewy but not tough. Friendly staff, wait at supper time was about 45 mins.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 1chad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasant Garden, North Carolina
Level Contributor
47 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Pulled chicken!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2013

Yes, I know this place is famous for pork ribs and pork BBQ. And it should be. But Pappy's served us the best pulled BBQ chicken we have ever tasted. Flavorful, moist, juicy, and tender. I don't see how it could have been any better. Love the place, too. You enter through the back, and walk through the dining area so you can see what everyone's having. Paper towels on the tables. Choice of sauces on the tables. Good baked beans. Blues on the PA. You'll probably have to wait - we visited about 4:30 on a Saturday, and waited about 45 minutes for a table. It was worth every minute.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma
Level Contributor
94 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“The best BBQ on earth!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

This is the best BBQ ever! No one comes close. Order the ribs, don't eat them with sauce or you'll ruin the taste. Good BBQ doesn't need sauce. These are the "perfect" ribs. The wait was around 45 minutes, but worth it. The exeuctive chef came out to visit with us for about 10 minutes while we were standing in line and was very friendly. He left and came back about 5 minutes later and give us a rib to try. I asked him about the burnt ends and he went to the kitchen a brought us back some burnt ends while still standing in line. The burnt ends are also great. The brisked is average along with the pulled pork.
The sides don't live up to the meat. The fried corn is dropped in hot grease and is not battered like other fried corn I've eaten. It is not very good. the coleslaw is a vinegar base. The potatoe taste as if it came out of a can. The baked beans were alright.
I will stop here and eat anytime I go through St. Louis.

Don't go here without ordering the ribs, you will be disappointed if you don't.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank todavis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brantford, Canada
Level Contributor
77 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

While visiting, I thought we had better try some St Louis BBQ. Recommended by locals it must be good, so we were sold. It was about an hour waiting in line, but well worth the wait. The food was great.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ETraverse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pappy's Smokehouse also viewed

 

Been to Pappy's Smokehouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing