We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“If you love BBQ - then when in STL - you go to Pappy's” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pappy's Smokehouse

Pappy's Smokehouse
Ranked #4 of 2,874 Restaurants in Saint Louis
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Grand Center / Midtown
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
55 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“If you love BBQ - then when in STL - you go to Pappy's”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

Pappys is just tops in BBQ. The pulled pork and ribs are to die for!! The sides are just ok...but typical for a BBQ place. Don't pass up the pulled pork and ribs

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Teresa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,906 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,078
    586
    191
    33
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mitchell, Indiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Best Ribs in the U.S.!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

We have traveled the U.S. and happen to love bbq. So in our travels we have searched for every bbq place we could find. This place by far has the best ribs we have ever eaten. The rub is amazing. I almost always use sauce but dont ruin these by adding. The sweet potato fries and baked beans were unbelievable also. If you only go to one restaurant while in St. Louis this is the spot!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Shelly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri
Level Contributor
117 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Pappy says, "you'll always leave happy"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

The front desk clerk referred me to this wonderful BBQ place. I had no idea it had been on the travel channel " man vs. food". I arrived around 6:30pm, word of advise GO EARLY because the line was out the door, ended up waiting about an hour. Pappys was well worth the wait! I had a half slab of ribs, beans and slaw. The ribs were perfectly cooked, my favorite sauce was janes sweet sauce (wasn't as tangy as the original) and the slaw isn't the traditional creamy slaw, it was more of a vinaigrette. Overall the food was great! Oh, one more tip, go early because when they're sold out of everything they shut down for the night. By 7pm they were out of beef brisket, turkey, steak fries & only 30 ribs left. The food was going like wild fire!!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Traveler201323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, MO
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Yummy bbq; go early!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

Arrived about 4:30 pm and had no wait time. That made the dinner even better! Fast service and delicious. Decided to go there before a Cardinals' game. Great night!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank consmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherwood, Arkansas
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“went twice”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

My husband and I tried to go twice to eat but the line was so long both times we couldn't wait. The line is outside also and very very hot. Surely there is a better way to to take care of patrons.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Christina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pappy's Smokehouse also viewed

 

Been to Pappy's Smokehouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing