We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Barbeque”
Review of Pappy's Smokehouse

Pappy's Smokehouse
Ranked #5 of 2,890 Restaurants in Saint Louis
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Grand Center / Midtown
York, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Barbeque”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

This is the best barbeque I have ever had while on vacation. The subtle smokey flavor of the pork is exemplified by the tender juicy meat. No wonder people stand in line waiting to get into the restaurant 30min before opening time!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Judith C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,021 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,160
    609
    199
    35
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Beaumont
Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“The BEST!”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

I read several reviews on the internet before going to St Louis and I could not wait to go. We went one afternoon after visiting the Arch and the line was not that long. We waited maybe 35 minutes. Let me just say..... The food is worth the wait. We got one of the large specials (which I cant remember what it was called) and all all split it (2 adults, 2 kids). It came with a frito pie, slab of ribs and about three different sandwiches plus sides. This was a great value and I think we left the restaurant for around $50. Thats a value for BBQ. All of the meat was super! The owner was even there and handed my 7 year old some sausage samples while we waited. We will surely go back the next time we are in town.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cconnor31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebradillas, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
296 reviews
261 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 253 helpful votes
“GOOD BBQ IN CARDINAL CITY”
Reviewed June 29, 2013

I visited this BBQ place today because of its high rating on TripAdvisor. The overall experience was good. We had to wait more than an hour to get the BBQ but it was delicious. Service was perfectly calculated so that you had an open table immediately after you ordered the food. The Pulled pork was excellent but the ribs were a little dry. The sauces provided at the tables gave different flavors and moisture. Portions were large enough to share and the ambiance was fairly quiet even though the place was crowded. For sides they offer apple sauce, baked beans, green beans, potato salad, corn on the cob, sweet potatoes fries, and cole slaw which all complement the delicious BBQ cuisine. Take a trip to this local place on Olive St. in Cardinal City and you will certainly enjoy yourself.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ISRAEL29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
71 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great bbq, worth the wait!”
Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

Went for lunch around 12:30 and it took almost an hour , but they have an impressive system for the line and it made the wait easy. Plus the food was fantastic. Shared the big ben combination.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GregoryA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
memphis
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“SO SO But Not Memphis BBQ”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

We arrived around 6pm with a fairly short line but quickly filled up out the back door the length of the restaurant by the time i ordered. Pay first at the counter and then they bring out the order to your table. I ordered the half slab with the fried ear of corn and bake beans. There were 3 bbq sauces to choose from on the table. ( I preferred the sweet and hot mixed together) The ribs were meaty with a nice dry rub. The fried ear of corn was different but good. However the beans taste like they came straight from a can without any additive. I ask the cashier if the potato salad was commercial and she said it was not homemade. Quick service once you place your order. I was eating in less than 10 min.

)

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MemphisJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pappy's Smokehouse also viewed

 

Been to Pappy's Smokehouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing