We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In St. Louis? Gotta See it at Least Once”
Review of Gateway Arch

Gateway Arch
Ranked #10 of 258 things to do in Saint Louis
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The Museum of Westward Expansion closed, pending installation of all new museum exhibits. As of March 2, 2015, entry-only ticket or tram ticket required to enter Arch. The nation's tallest monument at 630 feet, the Gateway Arch has beckoned visitors since June 1967. The Gateway Arch commemorates Thomas Jefferson and the role St. Louis played in the westward expansion of the United States. A visit to St. Louis isn't complete without standing at the Arch's base and playing professional photographer, but the view from the outside is only half of the experience. Attractions within the Arch include the Journey to the Top (the last tram leaves one hour before closing); educational programs (will be housed at the Old Courthouse); award-winning documentary movie, Monument to the Dream; and a gift shop. Closed Thanksgiving, Christmas Day and New Year's Day. Note: the address shown is for the Old Courthouse which is acting as the Gateway Arch Ticketing and Visitor Center throughout construction. Pedestrian entrance to the Arch Grounds is at Walnut Street at Memorial Drive or via the Grand Staircase from the riverfront.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children, Bathroom facilities
Glenview, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“In St. Louis? Gotta See it at Least Once”
Reviewed January 26, 2014

Very impressed by the size, history, and engineering behind this monument. The ride to the top was a lot of fun and not as scary as I thought it would be. If you are there, this is a "must do".

Even on a slow day, it was busy, but the park staff did a great job of moving things along. Bring your camera!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Andy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8,590 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4,728
    2,718
    905
    161
    78
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“A must if visiting St Louis”
Reviewed January 26, 2014

Very reasonable prices, we took the little lifts up the arch then you get as much time as you like at the top of the arch looking out at either side of St Louis. There is a museam telling the story of St Louis and two gift shops in the entrance to the attraction.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Blondey_83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“A must see!”
Reviewed January 25, 2014

Visited on Christmas Eve.
Adults $10 Child $5 (although Drury hotel gave us voucher for free kids entry)
It was not overly busy while we ere there but I can see it could get quiet overcrowded at busy times.
The lift ride up was a unique experience.
5 seats in a small ‘capsule’ - 4 minutes up and 3 minutes back. The window in the lift allows you to see the inside of the arch as you go up and down!
The view from the top was awesome - especially since we had a clear, blue sky day.
The whole experinec takes 45 mins to 1 hour.
At the base of the arch is a well presented free museum, gift shop and also the opportunity to view an Imax movie (for and additional fee)

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank TravelBorts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawnee, Oklahoma
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“great time”
Reviewed January 24, 2014

this is a must see if you travel to st louis. the ride up to the top is an experience in itself. you are at 630 ft when you get to the top and can see for miles.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank medicn8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Must go at sunset!”
Reviewed January 23, 2014

This was the second time I had journeyed to the top of the Gateway Arch, and I still enjoyed every moment. The little trams you ride are tiny, but you are only in them for 4 minutes so it isn't too bad! The museum at the bottom is interesting, the layout confused me though. The view from the top is what I, like many others I'm sure, enjoyed the most. Seeing the city at sunset took my breath away. Well worth the tiny care ride to the top! A must visit!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ashley G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gateway Arch also viewed

 

Been to Gateway Arch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing