We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Land mark”
Review of Gateway Arch

Gateway Arch
Ranked #10 of 254 things to do in Saint Louis
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The Museum of Westward Expansion closed, pending installation of all new museum exhibits. As of March 2, 2015, entry-only ticket or tram ticket required to enter Arch. The nation's tallest monument at 630 feet, the Gateway Arch has beckoned visitors since June 1967. The Gateway Arch commemorates Thomas Jefferson and the role St. Louis played in the westward expansion of the United States. A visit to St. Louis isn't complete without standing at the Arch's base and playing professional photographer, but the view from the outside is only half of the experience. Attractions within the Arch include the Journey to the Top (the last tram leaves one hour before closing); educational programs (will be housed at the Old Courthouse); award-winning documentary movie, Monument to the Dream; and a gift shop. Closed Thanksgiving, Christmas Day and New Year's Day. Note: the address shown is for the Old Courthouse which is acting as the Gateway Arch Ticketing and Visitor Center throughout construction. Pedestrian entrance to the Arch Grounds is at Walnut Street at Memorial Drive or via the Grand Staircase from the riverfront.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities
Apeldoorn, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
277 reviews
66 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“A Land mark”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

A really nice place to stop and see, specially when you take the shuttle to the top, a really nice view on St.Louis ... a must stop on Route 66

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank DiabloDesigns v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8,212 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4,529
    2,589
    865
    154
    75
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bloomington, Indiana
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Must-see while in St Louis”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

This is at the top of the list for things you must see while in St Louis. The ride to the top of the arch is cozy, but not bad. Of course, the view from the top is what you're there for! The museum downstairs is a nice little history lesson on the Westward Expansion.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank beekeeper47429
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“arch visit”
Reviewed August 16, 2013

too long of a wait, they didn't take into account the size of people they put in the capsule to take you up.
My husband is 340lbs and 6'6", myself and son were enough to squeeze in but then to fill up the remaining to seats (which I understand they have to) but then added another large lady and her partner. Needless to say the journey up was embarrassing for both my husband and her as they tried to squeeze in between the rest of us..then of course it's so hot and crowed up top, we stayed up there for 5 minutes, took pictures and got the heck out of there. Wasn't for us, worth it except now we can say we did it. .I could have done without it really.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Patti D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Depew, Oklahoma, United States
Level Contributor
87 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Really Cool”
Reviewed August 16, 2013

It was really cool to go up in the arch. It was really neat to see St. Louis from the top. If your claustrophobic you won't want to go up in the arch your in a small like pod that takes you to the top with 4 to 5 people. I didn't think it was to bad of a ride. The museum was cool and it is free. I would recommend going to see the arch it was neat.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Paula L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maumelle, Arkansas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wow!”
Reviewed August 16, 2013

This is a must see in St. Louis. The lower area has a very informative museum of America's settling of the west from the earliest years to the current. The Arch itself is an architectural marvel. Now, if you decide to go up in it to see the view, get ready for a very unusual trip! The trams as they are called consist of 8 pods that hold 4 or five people each. I was scared to death as I am claustrophobic and afraid of heights. Well, the pod got to me a bit, but it was worth it to see the fantastic view from the top. I would definitely recommend it to anyone to do at least once!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank LFGBVG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gateway Arch also viewed

 

Been to Gateway Arch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing