We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Its a great day out”
Review of Gateway Arch

Gateway Arch
Ranked #9 of 254 things to do in Saint Louis
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The Museum of Westward Expansion closed, pending installation of all new museum exhibits. As of March 2, 2015, entry-only ticket or tram ticket required to enter Arch. The nation's tallest monument at 630 feet, the Gateway Arch has beckoned visitors since June 1967. The Gateway Arch commemorates Thomas Jefferson and the role St. Louis played in the westward expansion of the United States. A visit to St. Louis isn't complete without standing at the Arch's base and playing professional photographer, but the view from the outside is only half of the experience. Attractions within the Arch include the Journey to the Top (the last tram leaves one hour before closing); educational programs (will be housed at the Old Courthouse); award-winning documentary movie, Monument to the Dream; and a gift shop. Closed Thanksgiving, Christmas Day and New Year's Day. Note: the address shown is for the Old Courthouse which is acting as the Gateway Arch Ticketing and Visitor Center throughout construction. Pedestrian entrance to the Arch Grounds is at Walnut Street at Memorial Drive or via the Grand Staircase from the riverfront.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities, Activities for young children
Colne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
158 reviews
61 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“Its a great day out”
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Gateway Arch
This is a fantastic attraction, the lift to to top only carries 5 people, and is a little cramped, but it’s a feeling that you will never forget, on arriving at the top, it make you feel that it was worth the wait, and the views down too the Mississippi river are stunning, take as many pictures as you can, and enjoy your day.
All my reviews are written from the heart, and how each place made me feel, I never write a negative review, due to the fact that if I have a problem or complaint, I open my mouth while I am there, let’s be fair and give people a chance to rectify problems, stop all this negativity.

Lee Wood at Pendle Pictures

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank PendlePictures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8,375 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4,624
    2,640
    880
    156
    75
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The only thing you will remember out of StL”
Reviewed May 14, 2013

Amazing history of the construction, Look at it first, try to imagine how they built it. Then check the wikipedia - did you guessed correctly?

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank I G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sallisaw, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Thief Alert!!!!! Why you are up in the arch they will be breaking into your car!”
Reviewed May 14, 2013

Stay away. Horrible tourist attraction. From the start, grounds unclean, parking horrible. Security to get into arch very rude, unnecessarily. We were with group and where they had us park was "shady". Very crime ridden area. Vehicle was broken into and most of groups valuables were stolen. After visiting with people in area, even the locals say "STAY AWAY"!!!!

The tour of arch was only fair. Very busy and crowded. When up in arch, so crowded you don't even have room to look around.

STAY AWAY!!!!!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank SoftballChaser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
11 reviews
“Museum a must see”
Reviewed May 14, 2013

I was looking forward to going up in the Arch but due to bad weather and limited visibility I decided against it. The underground Museum of Western Expansion was a nice diversion. They had a gift shop, plenty of restrooms and many displays. Quite pleasant and informative.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Robert G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
132 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Well done”
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Everything was great except the bathrooms. The information counter provides military discounts which you then take to the ticket counter. The arch was great even for my kids who are scared of heights as there was no perception of vertigo or movement.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank WorldTravelers2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gateway Arch also viewed

 

Been to Gateway Arch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing