We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 AM - 2:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Jefferson Barracks Telephone Museum

We checked this place out in a whim, and ended up loving it. The ladies who run it offered a... read more

Reviewed March 14, 2020
mariand78
History & Science behind Telephones

We visited this place on Sunday. The parking lot is about 4 minutes walk from the museum. The... read more

Reviewed March 10, 2020
Tilliraj
,
Saint Louis, Missouri
via mobile
Read all 95 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Saint Louis
from $25.00
More Info
from $15.00
More Info
from $59.65
More Info
Reviews (95)
Filter reviews
95 results
Traveler rating
90
5
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
90
5
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews guided tour pay phone navy ships walk down memory lane volunteer staff run by volunteers his enthusiasm learned how wealth of knowledge restored building excellent history a small gift shop on display great tour lots of history mississippi river technology
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
69 - 74 of 95 reviews
Reviewed November 5, 2017 via mobile

Wow! So much history & so much early engineering in one place. Fascinating whether you like telephony, like great stories, or have ever used a telephone. Demonstrations & stories will be interesting to youth as well. *HIGHLY* recommend. Ask for the guided tour to hear from a real Telephone Pioneer. (I think all the volunteers are TPs.)

Date of experience: November 2017
2  Thank dieRotkehlchen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2017 via mobile

This was a fantastic, small museum, made even better by our knowledgeable docent. I didn't know the history of the telephone would be so interesting. The phones were well displayed, all of the volunteers were friendly, and it was a great way to spend an hour or two in your free time.

Date of experience: October 2017
Thank rlgrhb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2017

Amazing display of telephones from the beginning of the technology until the current time. There are hands on exhibits for you and the kids to try: dial a rotary phone and watch the central office mechanically make the connection, try out an old fashioned phone booth, and put coins in a pay phone to watch them drop thru. There are crank phones, candlestick phones, rotary phones, and touch tone phones. Everything is very well documented so a self tour is easy. There are volunteers there that can answer questions. Since I worked for Southwestern Bell, it was even more of a walk down memory lane.

Date of experience: October 2017
1  Thank 612janetteh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2017 via mobile

This was a fabulous museum of telephones, equipment, and various memorabilia. Our guide was very interesting and knowledgeable. Definitely worth a visit!

Date of experience: September 2017
Thank H2044WOsharonh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2017

The new Telephone Museum in Jefferson Barracks absolutely amazed all ten members of my group! We expected to walk in and see a room full of telephones, but this museum is organized room by room in chronological order, beginning with the earliest means of telecommunications and ending with novelty phones. It took 13 years for the Telephone Pioneers volunteers to rehab the historic house and create this gem of a museum. Hundreds and hundreds of telephones are beautifully organized and displayed. Our guide, Carol, was a wealth of knowledge. This museum should not be missed. Admission is $5, $4 for seniors. Closing time is 2 p.m., so arrive early. Call ahead for a guided tour.

Date of experience: September 2017
Thank Pat L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews