We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: Closed
Save
Review Highlights
Amazing

Ken, our guide, was very knowledgeable and had fascinating information to share. They have a very... read more

Reviewed April 1, 2022
lindadP3732GX
,
Innsbrook, Missouri
Telephones, military, history

Fascinating! I'm local to STL and had no idea this gem was located at Jefferson Barracks in a... read more

Reviewed March 26, 2022
Footprints731105
via mobile
Read all 122 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Saint Louis
from $25.00
More Info
from $11.54
More Info
from $190.00
More Info
Reviews (122)
Filter reviews
122 results
Traveler rating
117
5
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
117
5
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews guided tour yellow pages wealth of knowledge restored building military installation on display history lesson hands on activities two hours all ages volunteers docent technology telecommunications switchboard progression cellular
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
111 - 116 of 122 reviews
Reviewed May 29, 2017

If you are in the STL area I strongly recommend taking time to see this new museum. We were warmly greeted when we entered. Then we were taken a lovely tour of the museum and learned so much about phones. The tour takes about an hour and will definitely take you down memory lane. Take some time to see this museum and then head across the street and see the wonderful Civil War Museum.

Date of experience: May 2017
1  Thank TSP2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2017 via mobile

What a little gem of a historical museum, dedicated to our most basic communication device--the telephone. The docents are retired phone company "pencil pushers", whose passion, enthusiasm and knowledge are infectious. They have everything from Alex Bell himself to current models, and they know how to explain the evolving technology in a way that's both interesting and understandable. It's well worth the hour or so for a visit.

Date of experience: May 2017
1  Thank LeeN1363
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2017 via mobile

Apparently this museum opened only last year. This museum was built by volunteers and is very nicely maintained. There are so many cool phones dating back a long time ago. Admission is cheap and very affordable for a family. Our tour guide was phenomenal. She was very informative and kept our attention. They sell bottled water in their gift shop which is a nice little bonus. Definitely recommend this museum. It's worth the time and money. Run solely by volunteers and they do an amazing job!

Date of experience: May 2017
2  Thank Tara P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2017 via mobile

Our entire family enjoyed the telephone museum. The docent was excellent. The volunteers there are former employees from the telephone industry. We learned so much about the history of the phones, in addition to seeing old phones and modern phones. They have done an excellent job displaying everything. Each piece is labeled. You can tell it was very well planned and thought out. You will see lots of phones from the past as well as modern phones. The museum is free. They depend upon donations if you choose to do that but there is no pressure at all for that. They are very friendly there. Be sure and check their website because they are not open every day.

Date of experience: May 2017
1  Thank Sheila P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2017

This is a unique experience that covers the History of the American Telephone. The Docent was very knowledgeable having worked many years for one of the Baby Bells. The all volunteer staff spent 13 YEARS getting the Museum ready for Exhibit. I did suggest they update the Exhibit to include some of the early versions of Cell Phones.

Date of experience: April 2017
2  Thank Travelsupr
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews