We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a dump”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Saint Joseph
Reviewed October 12, 2011

We tried to stay there in July 2011, we checked in got to the room, it smelled of smoke (non-smoking room) when my wife went into the restroom, she found someone else's clothes hanging behind the door. That was the last straw, we grabbed our stuff and left. We told the manager about it and he refused to give us a refund. We are currently disputing the charge with the credit card company. Not sure how that will turn out. We had stayed at the same named motel in Rapid City SD and it was very nice, this one is a dump!!!!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Don't stop
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abvistjosephmo, Webmaster at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thanks for choosing the ABVI St. Joseph during your recent visit to our area.

We appreciate you for the review and regret the experience.

We are investigating the entire issue of uncleanliness and the refund related issue.

All hotel staff has been given training to ensure that such a thing does never happens again.

Please consider staying us with again.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (92)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

79 - 85 of 92 reviews

Reviewed September 23, 2011

The room was clean and the staff was nice and helpful. The breakfast the next morning was good.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Shannon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2011

this hotel is enchanting with a very friendly staff , the housekeepers out do thier selves , I will say I was going to stay at another place and we had to get away from there . so we went across the street where we found this hotel we were upset when we came in . We were greeted by a smiling face . She listened to us and then asked if we would like to see a room before we bought a room . She showed us the room which was kinda small but extremly clean it smelled clean looked clean she even took the sheets off the bed to show us there were no bugs here . The housekeeper was called to make the bed again and she did even though she was busy . This hotel is great clean , friendly just great we will always stay there when we come thank you Lonna and Judy .

Room Tip: just ask
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank huntergreene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2011

Do to business circumstances, we had no idea of how long we would be staying. It started out being over the Memorial Day Weekend and ended up a total of 13 days. The staff was very accomodating in continuing our rooms on a day to day basis. Lonna, the manager with whom we had the most contact was excellent. As with any business, it is only as good as it's staff and they are as good as it gets. We are leaving here having made new friends.

Room Tip: All rooms are comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Admyrd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2011

This place was amazing the staff is friendly, helpful ... the location you can't beat it right off the highway... the rooms are clean the beds are comfortable. I will be back here

Room Tip: just ask
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lonn324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2011

What a nice motel. I stayed here for 5 days and it was super every day. Launa at the front desk was super nice and professional. She extended her courtesy to all 8 of us every day, even after we, Michigan Tech, beat Mo in Woman's Basketball. She was super nice when it was not necessary. I come there several times a year and will always stay there from now on, along with my 8 friends. The cleaning crew was super nice also!!!!! Nice people will always get you more business!!! The rooms were kept super clean and so was the motel in general. It was obvious, the staff worked well together. thanks

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank aethomasthomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2011

Stayed here on an overnight visit to St. Joseph. They are in the middle of updating rooms. We stayed in one of the old smoking rooms. Although certainly not the best hotel we've stayed in, the rooms were clean and the beds were comfortable. Amenities were what you would expect from a discount hotel. Not dissapointed.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Roxanne1121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint Joseph hotels
0.1 mi away
Quality Suites St. Joseph
Quality Suites St. Joseph
#9 of 12 in Saint Joseph
174 reviews
3.4 mi away
Radisson St. Joseph
Radisson St. Joseph
#10 of 12 in Saint Joseph
282 reviews
0.2 mi away
Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - St. Joseph
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Days Inn St Joseph
Days Inn St Joseph
#8 of 12 in Saint Joseph
398 reviews
0.2 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites St. Joseph
Drury Inn & Suites St. Joseph
#1 of 12 in Saint Joseph
357 reviews
2.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites St. Joseph
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn

Address: 4024 Frederick Ave, Saint Joseph, MO 64506-3157 (Formerly Super 8 Motel St. Joseph)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Saint Joseph
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Saint Joseph
Price Range: $67 - $72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
2 story interior corridor property. Restaurants, gas and diesel nearby. I-29 exit 47. FREE guest breakfast. On-site guest laundry. Renovated 2010. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and getaroom.com so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Saint Joseph

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing