We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Whiskey Mansion Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 3 Saint Joseph B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Excellent breakfast - coffee, fresh fruit, fresh homemade bread and quiche. Host accommodated our vegetarian diet. Very comfortable room and atmosphere. Enjoyed the renovation pictures and learning the history of the mansion. Friendly neighbors and staff.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bucket_list_travel7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (113)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

90 - 96 of 113 reviews

Reviewed September 29, 2012

We stayed one night in this huge mansion - felt a bit overwhelmed by it as it was so big and dark. Breakfast was orange juice, crustless quiche, fresh fruit, and hot bread - all very filling and good. Owner plays Billie Holliday/1930s style music downstairs which suits the nature of the house. Ideal if you want somewhere different to stay - somewhere with character.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Valerie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

20 years ago this beautiful 1885 Victorian mansion was a fire-gutted wreck. Owner Olin Cox has brought it back to life as an elegant, comfortable and beautifully furnished bed and breakfast. If you are planning to visit St Joseph (where there are great museums to visit) this is the place to stay. The house has been lovingly restored back to the days when it was the family home of the Westheimers, whiskey distillers, as evidenced by the many contemporary family photos haning on the walls.

Be sure to leave plenty of room for breakfast; it's generous and very tasty.

Room Tip: We were in Ferdinand's room. It was spacious and very comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angus W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2012

We are a group of six adults, wanting to have a special experience for our last night on the road coming back our home state. Although the mansion was itself was very beautiful, and bedrooms comfortable, we were very disappointed with the service offered. We were told we could park our autos behind the carriage house in the back due to having expensive equipment in our autos. The promised protected parking for our trucks and autos was a dirt lot under a shade tree without security lighting and water hoses scattered across the walking path toward the back of the mansion. The promised breakfast was a disappointment as well. We were downstairs around 7:00 A.M. but there was noone downstairs to greet us.....no coffee....nothing. The maid came around 8:15 A.M. and had to begin making coffee and wake up the innskeeper to serve us coffee and breakfast. Breakfast was supposed to be served at 8:00 A.M. but wasn't ready until around 8:45 A.M. There was no table covering, no flowers or center setting (as the picture suggests). We were served baked french toast with mixed fruit. We had to ask for juice and milk, as it was not offered. We were very disappointed....we thought breakfast should be bacon, eggs, biscuits, etc. Personal belongings were mistakenly left behind, and when called to ask about getting them returned, we were told we would need to give them a credit card to cover the shipping cost and additional $5.00 handling fee to have them packed and shipped to us. We can honestly say we will not return and hope that others have a better experience than we did.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank gospeljewels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhiskeyMansion, Owner at Whiskey Mansion Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2012

We are sorry you did not fully enjoy your stay. We did offer you off-street parking. It is on a narrow brick drive that once lead to a carrage house designed for horses in 1885. Breakfast is always served here from 8:30-10:00 am, as is always explained at check-in. You all had coffee at 8:30 and had all your meals on the table by 8:45. We do charge $5 plus actual cost for shipping. It takes time and money to ship items. $5 does not even completely cover our costs.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

I threw a bridal shower at Whiskey Mansion over the summer because I fell in love with the charm of this historic place. The owner, Olin, was an amazing host and was so gracious with helping me set up anything necessary for the shower! I will be recommending this to all my friends with upcoming weddings!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Casey P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2012

We had a delightful stay at this incredibly beautiful B&B. The owner has done a marvelous job of restoring what was once a glorious mansion. It could not have been more beautiful in its day than it is now. Our room was so comfortable, cozy, and quiet, not to mention how immaculate it was. There was plenty of on-street parking and free internet. The breakfast was most delicious and the dining area is so lovely. A five star restaurant could not match our meal there. Olin is a very friendly and welcoming host. We would love to go back again and again and stay in every room in the house. Also, this B&B is no more expensive that hotels in the area and truly has much more character.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bstrjh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2012

I stayed two nights in the maid's room at Whiskey Mansion in late July 2012. The home is lovely with beautiful furnishings. Parking is on the street. The maid's room is on the second floor. Wifi connection is excellent. The room contains a full size bed that is a bit shorter than average. I am 5'6" and my feet hit the footboard and my head was only a few inches from the headboard. I ended up sleeping diagonally across the bed. The linens and comforter are plush and the bed is comfortable. There is an in-room sink, remote control air conditioning, remote control TV with cable, alarm clock, wing back chair, small dresser, and end table. There are two hooks on which to hang clothing. The bathroom for this room is right outside the door of the bed room. The bath has a deep claw footed tub with hand held shower, toilet and sink. The hot water was immediate and the water pressure is good. The bathroom door has a skeleton key lock, however it must be decorative as it does not turn to release the bolt (and I have lived many years in a home with skeleton locks so I know how to operate them.) I gave this property a four rating instead of five due to the fact the bathroom door cannot be locked and in this day and age a wonderful period lock can be purchased from Restoration Hardware that would ensure a guest's peace of mind. Another item of note is the maid's room has two windows but only one has a heavy curtain to block out light. The window to the west only has a lace curtain so the heat of the setting sun comes into the room as well as early morning light. A large tree blocks others from viewing inside but it doesn't keep out the light/sun.
The hosts were polite, professional and willing to answer any questions. The food was hot, fresh and delicious. I was not offered hot tea in the morning with my meal (coffee and orange juice are offered) but I had my own tea bags and they willingly supplied hot water and offered a refill too. I would stay at this property again.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
Thank suriju
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint Joseph hotels
2.4 mi away
Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - St. Joseph
2.6 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites St. Joseph
Drury Inn & Suites St. Joseph
#2 of 12 in Saint Joseph
357 reviews
3.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites St. Joseph
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Candlewood Suites St Joseph
Candlewood Suites St Joseph
#6 of 12 in Saint Joseph
105 reviews
3.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites St Joseph
1 mi away
Radisson St. Joseph
Radisson St. Joseph
#11 of 12 in Saint Joseph
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whiskey Mansion Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whiskey Mansion Bed & Breakfast

Address: 1723 Francis St, Saint Joseph, MO 64501-2424
Location: United States > Missouri > Saint Joseph
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Saint Joseph
Price Range: $117 - $146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Whiskey Mansion Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This restored historic 1885 mansion, nestled in Missouri's largest National Registered District, will pamper you with its spacious rooms, full breakfast, and large bathrooms with soaking clawfoot tubs. Authentically appointed with period Eastlake furniture, this Non-Smoking inn will give you a quiet, romantic evening and restful night during your visit to Saint Joseph. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Whiskey Mansion Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whiskey Mansion Hotel Saint Joseph
Whiskey Mansion Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing