We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Like Stepping Back in Time” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Whiskey Mansion Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Whiskey Mansion Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 3 Saint Joseph B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
105 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Like Stepping Back in Time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2012

We had a delightful stay at this incredibly beautiful B&B. The owner has done a marvelous job of restoring what was once a glorious mansion. It could not have been more beautiful in its day than it is now. Our room was so comfortable, cozy, and quiet, not to mention how immaculate it was. There was plenty of on-street parking and free internet. The breakfast was most delicious and the dining area is so lovely. A five star restaurant could not match our meal there. Olin is a very friendly and welcoming host. We would love to go back again and again and stay in every room in the house. Also, this B&B is no more expensive that hotels in the area and truly has much more character.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bstrjh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    20
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
17
46
8
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2012

I stayed two nights in the maid's room at Whiskey Mansion in late July 2012. The home is lovely with beautiful furnishings. Parking is on the street. The maid's room is on the second floor. Wifi connection is excellent. The room contains a full size bed that is a bit shorter than average. I am 5'6" and my feet hit the footboard and my head was only a few inches from the headboard. I ended up sleeping diagonally across the bed. The linens and comforter are plush and the bed is comfortable. There is an in-room sink, remote control air conditioning, remote control TV with cable, alarm clock, wing back chair, small dresser, and end table. There are two hooks on which to hang clothing. The bathroom for this room is right outside the door of the bed room. The bath has a deep claw footed tub with hand held shower, toilet and sink. The hot water was immediate and the water pressure is good. The bathroom door has a skeleton key lock, however it must be decorative as it does not turn to release the bolt (and I have lived many years in a home with skeleton locks so I know how to operate them.) I gave this property a four rating instead of five due to the fact the bathroom door cannot be locked and in this day and age a wonderful period lock can be purchased from Restoration Hardware that would ensure a guest's peace of mind. Another item of note is the maid's room has two windows but only one has a heavy curtain to block out light. The window to the west only has a lace curtain so the heat of the setting sun comes into the room as well as early morning light. A large tree blocks others from viewing inside but it doesn't keep out the light/sun.
The hosts were polite, professional and willing to answer any questions. The food was hot, fresh and delicious. I was not offered hot tea in the morning with my meal (coffee and orange juice are offered) but I had my own tea bags and they willingly supplied hot water and offered a refill too. I would stay at this property again.

Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank suriju
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

We had a lovely experience at this charming hotel, tucked away on a tree lined street in St Joe. The rooms were airy and beautifully decorated, breakfast was delecious and right on time. The proprietor was knowledgable and helpful. We plan to return with the whole family next year!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mceaves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
105 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2012

My second stay was every bit as good as the first. This B&B is a treat for anyone who loves old houses or is interested in the history of St. Joseph. It's located conveniently just outside city center, close to all the interesting hisotrical sites. Olin, the host, is gracious and welcoming. The rooms are beautifully decorated.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank impatiens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I spent two nights at this wonderful B&B and could not have been more pleased. The breakfasts where great and the room was very clean and welcoming. I would without doubt recommand this B&B to anyone planning a trip to the area.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hobit2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2012

We stayed at the Whiskey Mansion this past weekend and had a wonderful time. Decor and rooms are beautiful. Owner has done a great job of restoring the mansion. The owner makes an outstanding breakfast and is very welcoming and provided so much information. Everyone we met was very friendly. Although the city could use some revitalizing, we still had amazing dinners, lunch & entertainment. Had dinner at the Bad Art Bistro and loved it! Had lunch at the Gothic Tea House and Loved it! Enjoyed live music at the Acoustic Cafe but left because of all of the smoke. Enjoyed all of the different martinis at Fosters where no smoking is allowed!! Shopped at the Mod Podge Boutique and found wonderful selection of trendy clothing! Would go back.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ivett S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Iberia, Louisiana
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2011

My wife and I were married on Nov 27th 2011 and I had to return home 2 days later so we couldn't stray far from northwest Missouri, I searched for a romantic place to spend the evening with my wife and was completely satisfied with the charming B&B... Whiskey Mansion It has been beautifully restored and is furnished in period furnishings and is located in the historic district of ST Joseph Mo.. The owner Olin is also a charming host and offers lots of history of the home, he is obvoiously proud of his home as well he should be. We stayed in teh Water Spa room and enjoyed the claw foot tub for two with the jacuzzi jets, Its very fair on pricing and unfortunately we were in too much of a hurry to enjoy breakfast the next morning , but Olin greeted us in the morning with coffee and a warm smile.... its a wonderful nights stay

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank presshull1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint Joseph hotels
1.0 mi away
Radisson St. Joseph
Radisson St. Joseph
#9 of 11 in Saint Joseph
3.0 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
3.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites St Joseph
2.4 mi away
Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - St. Joseph
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites St. Joseph
Drury Inn & Suites St. Joseph
#1 of 11 in Saint Joseph
4.5 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
2.4 mi away
Quality Suites St. Joseph
Quality Suites St. Joseph
#6 of 11 in Saint Joseph
3.5 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hampton Inn St. Joseph
Hampton Inn St. Joseph
#4 of 11 in Saint Joseph
4.0 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whiskey Mansion Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whiskey Mansion Bed & Breakfast

Property: Whiskey Mansion Bed & Breakfast
Address: 1723 Francis St, Saint Joseph, MO 64501-2424
Location: United States > Missouri > Saint Joseph
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Saint Joseph
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Whiskey Mansion Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This restored historic 1885 mansion, nestled in Missouri's largest National Registered District, will pamper you with its spacious rooms, full breakfast, and large bathrooms with soaking clawfoot tubs. Authentically appointed with period Eastlake furniture, this Non-Smoking inn will give you a quiet, romantic evening and restful night during your visit to Saint Joseph. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Whiskey Mansion Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whiskey Mansion Bed And Breakfast
Whiskey Mansion Hotel Saint Joseph

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing