We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bathroom nightmare”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - St. Joseph
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Saint Joseph
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 28, 2013 via mobile

After 6 hours on the road I stopped the stoney creek inn. The employees were helpful and friendly. we stayed in room 326. I did an inspection. The room was clean. Then I went to the bathroom. First I notice was hairs on the shower curtain. Next I looked up the ceiling was cracked. Then the sink was also cracked. I went into the shower their was mysterious white stuff on the shower head. then i found lose wallpaper their was black mold behind it. So the hotel is great but the bathroom is a big thumbs down.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank oscar219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jack K, Vice President of Corporate Support Services at Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - St. Joseph, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2013

Dear Oscar, Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay. Let me first apologize for the poor conditions you found in the bathroom. It is clear that perhaps not enough attention was paid to detail prior to your arrival, and with cleanliness being such a point of pride at Stoney Creek Inn, understand this is as troubling to us as it was to you. The cracks in the ceiling and sink may be attributed to normal wear and tear, but nevertheless, it is something we are now in the process of repairing. The “black markings’ you found when peeling back wallpaper, are more likely mildew than mold, but we will immediately investigate and we can assure you this is a rare occurrence that is being dealt with immediately.” Thank you for the kind words you expressed regarding the over-all cleanliness of the room. It is that kind of excellent guest experience that we strive for each and every guest to have throughout ALL aspects of your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (406)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

280 - 286 of 406 reviews

Reviewed March 16, 2013

Thia was our first time at Stoney Creek Inn and we were very satisfied. The hotel was very clean, the staff was extremely friendly and helpful. We enjoyed their bar and bar tender very much. I would stay here again for sure.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kissyfur35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jack K, Vice President of Corporate Support Services at Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - St. Joseph, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2013

Thank you for the very kind words and for taking the time to post and share them. We are very happy to know you would stay here again 'for sure' and we hope that will be very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Katie S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Great place to stay. I called hotel directly to make reservation and the desk clerk offered me an excellent deal, better than the coupon I found online for the hotel. The deal was offered before I mentioned coupon! Hotel room was clean and quiet. Pool was a little cool, but part of it is outside and it was below freezing outside most of the weekend. Breakfast had good choices and was well stocked. Each morning offered a different hot choice. Front desk staff were kind, knowledgeable and helpful of requests. We will definitely stay here again. There is no restaurant on premises. There is a small quick shop next door and two restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ann4kids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2013

We were moving across county and stayed here March 2nd 2013. The staff was really nice, our room was clean, the beds were comfortable, the breakfast was good, and we enjoyed a nice relaxing night after a long day of driving. I loved the lodge feel to the place.

The parking lot had plenty of parking... very good with a 26' moving van. Spacious rooms with Internet, TV, and remote that worked. The heating was just right and the shower was nice and hot. Heated indoor/outdoor pool. Walking distance to several restaurants and gourmet coffee place. Easy to get on and off highway.

They give AAA discounts. This place was the least expensive and highest value room we stayed in while headed across country. Would definitely stay hear again if I ever find myself in St. Joseph, MO again!

Breakfast was fruit, yogurt, breads, pastries, cereal (with milk), biscuits and gravy, juice, coffee, make your own waffles, etc.. The lady was very attentive to the food that was set out and kept everything hot and full.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cyrusdust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013 via mobile

There isn't a place better to unwind after a long day of work. Staff is very helpful and treat you like family. Join the travelers club to earn useable points in a hurry! Location is right off I29 so its near many locations.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

The motel was clean, staff willing too help in any way, beds were comfortable, no noise problem. the staff went out of their way to meet some needs, one way was too change room to a walkin shouer; another way was to go on internet and find me time and directions to conert we went down for, just a nice stay, will be staying again, very impressed.

Room Tip: stayed on eastside on first floor, nice and roomy, no noise problems.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharletha R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint Joseph hotels
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites St Joseph
0.2 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites St. Joseph
Drury Inn & Suites St. Joseph
#2 of 12 in Saint Joseph
361 reviews
2.7 mi away
Candlewood Suites St Joseph
Candlewood Suites St Joseph
#6 of 12 in Saint Joseph
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Radisson St. Joseph
Radisson St. Joseph
#10 of 12 in Saint Joseph
290 reviews
2.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites St. Joseph
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn St. Joseph
Hampton Inn St. Joseph
#4 of 12 in Saint Joseph
372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - St. Joseph? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - St. Joseph

Address: 1201 N Woodbine Rd, Saint Joseph, MO 64506-2466
Location: United States > Missouri > Saint Joseph
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Saint Joseph
Price Range: $122 - $142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - St. Joseph 2.5*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center delivers an atmosphere, attitude, and commitment similar to the atmosphere found in our nation’s Northwoods, with a Saint Joseph-Western twist. After venturing out to see Kansas City’s Football Training Camp, Visiting Jesse James home, or the Pony Express Museum, enjoy one of our bunkbed rooms or theme suites at night, with a free, hot breakfast in the morning! During the week, business-travelers will enjoy our quiet atmosphere and on-site bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - St. Joseph reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stoney Creek Inn - St. Joseph Hotel Saint Joseph
Stoney Creek Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing