We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Place To Eat in St. Joseph”
Review of Cabbage Roll

Cabbage Roll
Ranked #5 of 215 Restaurants in Saint Joseph
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $13
Cuisines: German
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: WE ARE OPENED MON--FRI--11 TO 2 DINNER BUFFET FRIDAY NIGHTS 5 TO 7 RESERVATIONS ARE NEEDED FOR FRIDAY NIGHTS CLOSED SATURDAY & SUNDAY
St. Joseph, Missouri, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Best Place To Eat in St. Joseph”
Reviewed September 14, 2012

The place specializes in German food, but offers a great variety of food choices. They are open M-F for lunch and offer a buffet on Friday night. The food is outstanding. We go nearly every Friday night. Their desserts are excellent. The owners are there all the time and have poured their heart and soul into their business. They are very friendly and serve your food with a good dose of humor. It is not easiest place to find, but once you are there you will enjoy the food and the "Cabbage Roll experience."

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
10 Thank William L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    104
    26
    5
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Missouri
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Glad we stopped!”
Reviewed September 5, 2012

This is a great local gem with good German food and a friendly atmosphere. My husband and I enjoyed our meals immensely and look forward to going back sometime in the near future.
I would like to try their Friday night buffet as it looks great.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
8 Thank mrsd10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salina, Kansas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“glad we stopped”
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Passing through on vaction, read good reviews and I am always looking for something differant to try. Off the beaten path, thankful for gps. Wish we could be there for Friday night buffet. Decent lunch and interesting setting. Very friendly, small town feeling, glad we made the effort to eat here.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
7 Thank wayne f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgetown, tx
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great place, not a chain”
Reviewed August 3, 2012

We read some good reviews on this local spot and decided to try it out. We called in advance to check times and location. The guy that answered was helpful and friendly. We arrived a few minutes early and were quickly seated. They were having a special Friday night buffet with several german dishes, breakfast items, salad bar, desserts, and special blend coffee. Our host explained where everything was located and shared some info on different items. We really loved the german items. The jagerschnitzel was very good. The sausage stew was also great. We liked everything we tried, especially dessert. They had a several choices from cheesecakes to lemon bars to chocolate cake. All fantastic! The price was also really great at just $11.99 each for the whole bar including dessert and coffee. The host also came back around to our table a few times to chat. He was very friendly and made us feel like local regulars.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
10 Thank slpgttx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Missouri
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“a bit of bavaria saint joseph”
Reviewed July 20, 2012

A girlfriend and I passed thru on the way to Ragbrai. We shared periogoes and chili on the lunch special. Both were delicious. The value was unbelievable, and the service was very kind and prompt. Will stop anytime back in st.joe.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
9 Thank suzanne417
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cabbage Roll also viewed

 

Been to Cabbage Roll? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing