We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“glad we stopped” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cabbage Roll

Cabbage Roll
Ranked #3 of 212 Restaurants in Saint Joseph
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $13
Cuisines: German, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Business meetings, Families with children, Kids, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: WE ARE OPENED MON--FRI--11 TO 2 DINNER BUFFET FRIDAY NIGHTS 5 TO 7 RESERVATIONS ARE NEEDED FOR FRIDAY NIGHTS CLOSED SATURDAY & SUNDAY
Salina, Kansas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“glad we stopped”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

Passing through on vaction, read good reviews and I am always looking for something differant to try. Off the beaten path, thankful for gps. Wish we could be there for Friday night buffet. Decent lunch and interesting setting. Very friendly, small town feeling, glad we made the effort to eat here.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
7 Thank wayne f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    25
    5
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
georgetown, tx
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great place, not a chain”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2012

We read some good reviews on this local spot and decided to try it out. We called in advance to check times and location. The guy that answered was helpful and friendly. We arrived a few minutes early and were quickly seated. They were having a special Friday night buffet with several german dishes, breakfast items, salad bar, desserts, and special blend coffee. Our host explained where everything was located and shared some info on different items. We really loved the german items. The jagerschnitzel was very good. The sausage stew was also great. We liked everything we tried, especially dessert. They had a several choices from cheesecakes to lemon bars to chocolate cake. All fantastic! The price was also really great at just $11.99 each for the whole bar including dessert and coffee. The host also came back around to our table a few times to chat. He was very friendly and made us feel like local regulars.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
10 Thank slpgttx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Missouri
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“a bit of bavaria saint joseph”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2012

A girlfriend and I passed thru on the way to Ragbrai. We shared periogoes and chili on the lunch special. Both were delicious. The value was unbelievable, and the service was very kind and prompt. Will stop anytime back in st.joe.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
9 Thank suzanne417
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
home
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“If I had a German grandmother she would have cooked like this!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2012

My wife and I ate lunch there, very good, agree with the others save room for desert, homemade, big selection. Will be back for the buffet-Owners very friendly-great experience!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
12 Thank togobox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chanhassen, Minnesota
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A nice lunch -different than most”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2012

Great place to have lunch, save room for desert as they make their own cakes. Do watch the hours and days as they are mainly lunch and Friday evenings.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
10 Thank Lahti56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cabbage Roll also viewed

 

Been to Cabbage Roll? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing