We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The BEST service!”

Perkins Restaurant & Bakery
Ranked #148 of 216 Restaurants in Saint Joseph
Cuisines: American, Delicatessen
Restaurant details
Topeka
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The BEST service!”
Reviewed March 25, 2013

This was too good not to share. First of all, I wanted to go to IHOP and there isn't one in St. Joe. So Perkins it was. I wasn't disappointed at all! Our waitress had to be the friendliest, most attentive, and experienced lady I've met in a while! We were there for lunch before a double-header softball game so we didn't order our typical stuff. Stayed kinda light, and no soda. Anyway, we were 2 adults, 3 kids. By the time our waitress noticed that one of meals could be combined (to save $) and a $5 off coupon that could be used that day, our total went from $17 to $12!! Hello, we can't eat ANYWHERE for that! Thanks, Perkins.....we'd definitely eat here again!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank lotsasports
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    11
    11
    10
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“regulars and loving it”
Reviewed January 19, 2013

Perkins is a diner and as such, it is lovely. The pies are remarkable, the service incredible and some of their sandwiches a guilty pleasure for days when we are not counting calories.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank still_nomadic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Joseph, Missouri
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“BREAKFAST SELECTIONS/BAKERY ITEMS”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

The newspaper has given them a questionable inspection rating. I like to go there to eat a breakfast or buy a bakery item/s for myself or as a gift.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Debby H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison GA
Level 6 Contributor
283 reviews
170 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“First time we've ever been disappointed”
Reviewed September 9, 2012

My husband tried the new peach pie. It wasn't as good as their other selections; it was like the center didn't get as done as the edges leaving the peaches hard with little taste.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Perky51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Yikes! Give this place a good scrub!”
Reviewed July 22, 2012 via mobile

The cleanest thing about this Perkins was the American flag in the parking lot. This place needs attention: trash in the parking lot, dirty table, every glass partition smudged, the bin for silverware packs needed wiping down, ceiling tiles with water damage, dusty window sills, 2 of 3 toilets needed attention, S&P shakers had food residue, and food and older-looking debris on the part of the kitchen floor that we could see heading to the restrooms made me wonder what the rest of the kitchen was like. The state of cleanliness was obviously not the result of one bad day. Wait staff was nice but not proactive. Have a Q? Expect to get "no" instead of "pls let me check on that." why can't I pay a buck or two more for a kids or senior meal? Lack of flexibility on that point meant needlessly wasted food. In short: the place seemed to have lost its focus as the Perkins one should expect to find anywhere. Sad.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Snomen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Perkins Restaurant & Bakery also viewed

Saint Joseph, MO
Saint Joseph, MO
 
Saint Joseph, MO
Saint Joseph, MO
 

Been to Perkins Restaurant & Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing