We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommend!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Candlewood Suites St Joseph
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Saint Joseph
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Webster City, Iowa
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Recommend!”
Reviewed March 15, 2014 via mobile

This hotel was very clean, with exceptional rooms! They have everything you could possibly want. We only stayed a couple nights but will definitely be back. Would recommend for people staying a while they have full kitchen with everything included. Very quiet stay also not something that happens very often in hotels. Reception area was very neat and in order and customer service was awesome. Again would recommend this hotel if your in the area.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Katie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travis P, General Manager at Candlewood Suites St Joseph, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Katie,

On behalf of the staff and myself I would like to thank you for your kind words and we appreciate any and all types of feedback. This feedback helps us give every guest the experience you encountered. We hope to see you during your next trip to or through Saint Joseph. We value customer service and always make it our #1 priority.

Thanks again,

Travis Perkins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    25
    8
    4
    2
See reviews for
28
26
4
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bari, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
200 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2014

I was really impressed by the comfort of the rooms: they are huge, the kitchen area is great, everything is nice, clean and at the right place. The room, with autonomous temperature control, has a refrigerator and freezer and in the kitchen there is anything you would have at home from kitchen utensils, glasses and plates. The living room is provided with a flat screen TV and even with a blue ray player. At the end you have the feeling to be at home, in a total comfort.
The hotel has a gym as well as a full honor bar complete with many things you may need during your stay, including free coffee and fruit. Front desk people are kind and available for all your requests. It was my first experience at a Candelwood: I loved it and I will return.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Giuseppe2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travis P, Manager at Candlewood Suites St Joseph, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time out and giving us an amazing response. We take pride in our hotel and strive for perfection. We are glad to hear that you had the feeling like you were at home, and hope that if you are back in the area you will stay with us again. If we can do anything else please let us know. Thanks again..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antioch CA
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

The Hotel is reasonably priced. The hotel has a gym as well as a full honor bar complete with many things you may need during your stay. We stayed in St. Joseph for 2 nights. After 1 night of an unsatisfactory experience at another local hotel we switched to Candlewood Suites, now we really wish we would have booked Candlewood Suites originally.

We were all impressed by the comfort of the rooms, everything was modern and up to date, as well spacious. There were separate temperature controls for the bedroom and living room, which was nice since we had a group of people in our 1 bedroom suite. The room had a fridge and freezer even with an ice maker. In the full kitchen there was anything you would have at home from kitchen utensils, silverware, glasses, and plates. The living room had a recliner, sofa couch, flat screen TV, even with a blue ray player.

The property is a short driving distance from several shopping centers and restaurants, and a handful within walking distance.

Never have stayed at a Candlewood before but after this experience I will be sure to stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aaron S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travis P, General Manager at Candlewood Suites St Joseph, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Thank you so much for the amazing comments. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We take pride in our hotel and strive to be the best. We hope the next time you're in St Joseph you will stay with us.
Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Missouri
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2013

On October 5th, a friend and myself came in for a wedding. When we arrived, the front desk was swamped by people needing to check in to about 5 different rooms. Of course, we were all arrived a little earlier than the stated check-in time, and there was only one employee working the front desk. After checking in, we proceeded to our room, Room 302. Upon entering the room, we were very pleased with the accomodations. We had a double that had two queen beds. The room also comes with a full desk, a kitchenette with a full-size refrigerator, microwave, dishwasher and microwave. The microwave even had a complimentary bag of popcorn in it. Very nice to have all of this stuff on hand if you would be staying for more than one night. Unfortunately, we were just in for a night.

We got ready, headed out to our wedding, and then came back around 10:15 p.m. We decided to stop at the front desk to check out the movie selection. This is where we met Ricky. Ricky had his hands full with us as we are the type of gals that like to give someone a hard time for the fun of it. We told Ricky that we wanted to check a movie or two out. He asked what kind of movie we were looking for, and then he made several suggestions. We checked out a couple of titles and then asked if we could get another bag of popcorn. He was so kind and gave us two. We then went up to our room and started to get settled in for the night. Just to give you a hint, do not hit the popcorn button on the microwave, as it will start to set your bag of popcorn on fire. We called the front desk just to check in to see where the fire extinguishers were located at just in case something went really bad. Hint: about 2 minutes and 18 seconds is ideal for popping the popcorn. It might behoove management to make a note of this on the microwaves. Well, next we decided to turn the tv on and browse the channels for a bit before starting a movie. Darn the luck, the cable was not working the best. So, Room 302 had to phone Ricky again. Ricky proceeded to tell us about the cable issues that others have had and that he has the same carrier and was having difficulties with his home system as well. I told him no worries, we have two movies to choose from that he recommended. Well, it was time to start the movie, and we could not get the tv remote to switch over to the DVD player so we could watch one of our selections. Room 302 was on the horn again to Ricky. Ricky came up to our room and checked out our tv, only to find that it was not an operator issue, but it was the remote that had the issue. he phoned down to the manager and the manager brought up a new remote that worked perfectly. Ricky to the rescue!!!!

The beds were exceptionally comfortable, the bathroom and the room was very clean. Overall, a very nice stay. Had Ricky not been there that night, our night would not have been as enjoyable. He gave us some good laughs. That man deserves a raise for providing such excellent customer service that was above and beyond what most would ever consider providing. But, we were also the best of customers, too! Room 302 are big Ricky fans!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gerdegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travis P, General Manager at Candlewood Suites St Joseph, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
We are pleased to know that our employee provided great customer service for you. We are more than happy to hear the great responses and glad we made your night remember able.
We hope when your in this area again you will come back and see us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacific, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
176 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

I had to fill a couple requirements for my next level IHG membership so I gave this place a shot. I was pleasantly surprised. The rooms are huge, the kitchen area is great, the gym and all the other amenities go a long way to making it feel like home. They even have BBQ pits outside you can use if you'd like. I'm staying there all of next week as well I was that impressed.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Joseph R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travis P, General Manager at Candlewood Suites St Joseph, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Thank you so much for giving us a shot. We appreciate the business and the great comments. We can't say thank you enough for the recommendation and the kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrence, Kansas
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

This is my10th trip to St Joseph Mo and by far the best hotel I have stayed in. Its clean its fresh and the best hotel experience in any city I have had EVER!! From the time I walked in and was greeted by a smiling front desk to the minute I checked out it was totally beyond my expectations. The rooms are super clean, its quiet and great bed and total comfort. The staff goes way out of their way to make things first class. I loved it and was my first experience at a Candelwood and I will return. St Joe is filled with seedy hotels that are filthy and hotel staffs that are rude. I am so happy to finally find a decent hotel that is worth the price and better than any other hotel in the city!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JDD800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

We used reward points to stay here on our way to Colorado. Nice, clean and convenient place to stay. They were booked full and upgraded us to a king suit, very comfortable bed w/great pillows. But no ice machines

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TwoEquestrians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint Joseph hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites St Joseph
2.7 mi away
Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - St. Joseph
2.8 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites St. Joseph
Drury Inn & Suites St. Joseph
#1 of 12 in Saint Joseph
338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Quality Suites St. Joseph
Quality Suites St. Joseph
#9 of 12 in Saint Joseph
169 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hampton Inn St. Joseph
Hampton Inn St. Joseph
#4 of 12 in Saint Joseph
338 reviews
4.3 mi away
Radisson St. Joseph
Radisson St. Joseph
#10 of 12 in Saint Joseph
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites St Joseph? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites St Joseph

Property: Candlewood Suites St Joseph
Address: 3505 Village Dr, Saint Joseph, MO 64506-4991
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Saint Joseph
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Saint Joseph
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites St Joseph 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are conveniently located off I-29 at Exit 50 making it a convenient choice for both business and leisure travelers. The Candlewood Suites is also in close proximity to the following major companies, Boehringer, Heartland Health, Herzog Industries, Johnson Controls and Triumph Foods to name just a few. We have everything you need for a productive business trip in St. Joseph MO. Whether you're here for a short trip or an extended stay, we provide everything you need. Our services include a 24-hour Fitness Center, free parking and free guest laundry facilities. The hotel is equipped with a 24-hour business center and each suite includes free Wi-Fi access and spacious work area. Furnished for comfort and daily living, the suites at the Candlewood Suites have plenty of space for relaxing, entertaining, or meeting with colleagues. Our full kitchens have the amenities you need to get you going in the morning and to make your evening complete. Our outdoor Gazebo and grilling area will help you relax and unwind after a long day. In need of a quick bite to eat be sure to stop by our 24 hour Candlewood Cupboard that sells value priced items. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Candlewood Suites St Joseph reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing