We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Candlewood Suites St Joseph
Nearby Hotels
$135
$101
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$63
$60
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$90
QualityInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Drury Inn & Suites St. Joseph(Saint Joseph)
$110
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$112
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$135
$115
HIExpress.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fairfield Inn & Suites St. Joseph(Saint Joseph)(Great Value!)
$98
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$52
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Days Inn St Joseph(Saint Joseph)
$91
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Motel 6 St. Joseph(Saint Joseph)
$56
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Reviews (104)
Filter reviews
104 results
Traveler rating
62
27
8
5
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
62
27
8
5
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfull size refrigeratorice makerfront deskroom was cleanbeautiful facilitykansas citymovie theaterkitchenettetargetihgamenitiesreclinersthousekeepingwalmartconveniencepet
Filter
Updating list...
99 - 104 of 104 reviews
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Candlewood Suites in St. Joe opened a few months ago and is brand new. The hotel is in a convenient location just off I-29 and is adjacent to a huge shopping area and restaurants. The front desk staff here is what made my stay great! They are very personable, friendly, helpful, know the area well and really get to know their long term guests. I would definitely recommend this place if you are staying a few nights or a week or so. Long term guests may find it noisy or that the kinks still need some working out. The rooms are very spacious and have a lot of work space. The mattress was very comfortable and slept really well. The bathroom had plenty of counter space and shelving/drawers to hold all of your things. The kitchenette was also very nice, had a full sized fridge, dishwasher, microwave and 2 burner stove top, with your basic cooking utensils. Plastic containers were a nice plus for saving leftovers!
If you've never stayed with Candlewood before, the cleaning staff only comes by once a week. You may request more cleanings but you may have to make the request more than once.
I was disappointed to find there was no pool, however, the workout room and FREE laundry were a huge plus! I enjoyed being able to plug in and control my Ipod from the exercise machines and utilize brand new Whirlpool Duet washer/dryers. The laundry could be quite crowded, so setting a timer to ensure your clothes didn't get removed is advisable (and also a courtesy to others).
In addition, the outside grills, free movie and applicance rentals, and managers reception were great perks to making the stay better. Although I didn't utilize it, there was a "mini pantry" where many household items were available for purchase.
I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TrvlingMyBucketList
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travis P, Director of Sales at Candlewood Suites St Joseph, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2012

On behalf of the Staff at Candlewood Suites of Saint Joseph I would like to thank you for your positive feedback. Also, we would like to thank you for the areas of improvement you gave to us. We continuously try to provide the best customer experience and with dedicated travelers like yourself we can. Thanks again and we hope you come back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012

This new hotel is on the "right side" of St. Joe. It is near all the new restaurants, shopping, and movie theatre.

The "sticks and bricks" are nice on this hotel. It is new! I might make a recomendation to who ever designed the front entrance that they should grind down the front curb to make it easy for travelers to just roll their luggage right on in. This is an extended stay hotel and we stayed for 3 nights. I think for business travelers who might be staying for multiple nights, this would be an excellent choice. There is a very nice work space in the rooms and the rooms are big. I think it would have been beneficial at the time of check in to have the staff member explain that there is no housekeeping services for short term stays. We were gone one day and expected new towels and a made beds, but came back to the same room we left. Again, not a huge deal, it would have just have been nice to be prepared. You take your own trash to the end of the hall. I understand for long term stays there is weekly housekeeping.

If you are staying with family, please note there is no pool and no built in breakfast buffet, just a little store where you can buy some snacks and the like.

Also, there are very comfortable beds!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GoBigRed10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travis P, Director of Sales at Candlewood Suites St Joseph, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2012

We here at Candlewood Suites of Saint Joseph would like to take the time to thank you for your comments. We are always looking to improve our guests experience and with your feedback we can take a step in the right direction. We are looking into having our housekeeping policy posted on our website and training our front desk staff to explain the policy to each guest that walks in the door. We love hearing from our customers so, again on behalf of the staff I would like to thank you for your stay and we hope to see you back anytime you travel to or through Saint Joseph.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2012

Traveled to St. Joseph on business and stayed one night here. The desk staff was extremely helpful and the room was very clean. I would definitely stay here again although the HVAC unit was somewhat noisy and seemed to come on too often.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CurseReversed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travis P, Director of Sales at Candlewood Suites St Joseph, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2012

Thank you for your feedback. We here at Candlewood Suites of Saint Joseph look to provide our guests with a nice, quiet, and comfortable stay. Thanks for bringing the HVAC problem to our attention we will look into that right away and take care of any problems we find immediately. Please come back a visit us anytime you are passing through Saint Joseph. Have a great day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2012

I love this hotel. This a brand new hotel and the decor is amazing. Very modern decor and spacious. The bed was divine and the full kitchen was a nice bonus. Perfect for personal or business travel. (Business travelers will love the enormous workspace!). The front desk staff was very friendly and professional and were very accomodating of my late checkout request. Located near shopping, movie theater, and tons of restaraunt, and close highway access.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denise D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 3, 2012

Thank you for your positive feedback and we hope that next time you are traveling to or through Saint Joseph you can make us your preferred hotel. At Candlewood Suites in Saint Joseph our goal is to provide the best for our guests and with this positive feedback it lets us know that we are doing things right. Thank you again and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay. Come back and see us soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2012

Hotel was well located to restaurants, shoppes, and a theater. We loved the fact all rooms were suites. We will stay often.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wilber23456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 3, 2012

Thank you for your review. You were here for our first full day open. It makes us feel great to know that you had a great stay. We here at Candlewood strive to be the best at providing for our guests and with your positive feedback it helps us realize that we are doing things right. Hope to see you again.

Thanks again from all of us at the Candlewood Suites of Saint Joseph.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews