We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Horror! The Horror!”
Review of Motel 6 St. Joseph

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Motel 6 St. Joseph
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in Saint Joseph
Reviewed October 22, 2013

I felt uneasy about booking into this hotel. I have pretty strong intuition.
Plain and simple..my friend and I both booked a single room each. NON SMOKING.
When I opened my door the stench of smoke slapped me in the face, and to my disgust the bed had not been made.It was about 6.00 pm. This made the whole place seem really grimy and seedy, as if the room had been used for an hour for some "illicit" services.
And to top it off, I had to pay extra for WIFI, and they only offered a cup of coffee in the morning.
So we left this place immediately after getting a total refund.
Of course I remembered why I was feeling fearful about this Motel 6. We stayed in one in Fayetteville Arkansas last year, which had the same awful lino floor and seediness about it.
I do not blame to girl at reception, she was friendly and pleasant. She was really busy and probably not in charge of the cleaning duties, but Never Again Motel 6!!!!!

Room Tip: Don't bother.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank catwic57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Motel6, Public Relations Manager at Motel 6 St. Joseph, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2013

Dear catwic57,
Thank you for sharing your review. We apologize for the unpleasant stay you had as a result of the cleanliness and smoke odor issues you experienced. These conditions are not consistent with Motel 6 standards for quality, and we encourage you to contact our Guest Relations Department so they can have a record of your experience to help us provide our guests with better service in the future: 1-800-577-3435.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (83)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

74 - 80 of 83 reviews

Reviewed October 19, 2013

Clean room, friendly front desk staff and accommodating cleaning staff. Will stay here again. Haven't stayed in Motel 6 before and will definitely stay here again. Room opened up to outside great for pets. Reasonably priced.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ptnurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Motel6, Public Relations Manager at Motel 6 St. Joseph, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2013

Thank you ptnurse for staying with us! We are glad to hear about your great experience. Hope to see you back soon. Safe Travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

We decided to stay at this hotel due to its low advertised rate - we were on our way back to Omaha from KC after a concert but at 1:30 in the morning felt a little too tired to drive another two hours.

The public areas that were open were dirty, run-down and smelled like smoke, which caused some worry about the state of the rooms. Our room, however, was like a hospital room in comparison. The linens were clean - the floors were linoleum instead of carpet, also clean. The walls were bright, probably recently painted. And, most importantly, even though the bed was not the very thick, padded mattress and piles of pillows we're used to from our stays at Marriott properties, it was very comfortable! We never turned on the TV, but noticed that there were jacks for gaming systems, HDMI cables, and USB cords - thought this was pretty cool for a super-economy hotel.

The only downside was that we could hear people in the next room talking and laughing and playing music at 4am - but it wasn't enough of a bother to call the front desk. Just a warning that the walls are going to be on the thin side, but when the heater/ac unit is running it will probably block everything out.

It was definitely not a bad stay for the few hours that we spent there, sleeping.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dmk127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

The motel was right off of 29 and near several restaurants so the locations was a plus. The room was clean and nice for the money. A good value. The bed was comfortable and I enjoyed walking to the restaurant and having a drink without worries.

Room Tip: There is a swimming pool so you might want to be near it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paula F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2012

We stopped here late at night, with not many options to choose from. We were so tired that we didn't bother to check the room for cleanliness before checking in. Big mistake! The room was filthy, especially the bathroom. There was garbage on the floor from the previous guests. The sheets were dirty and stained. We decided to sleep on top of the bedding, which was just as filthy as the sheets. This was a non-smoking room that smelled like smoke. The bedding had cigarrette burns, and some sort of crusty stuff on it. We could hear the other guests coming and going all night. When we left the hotel the next morning, we had to step around garbage and spit that the guests upstairs had thrown down/spit on the sidewalk. What a nasty place!

Room Tip: Do not stay here!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank racemom2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2011

Not a bad experience, all in all - very basic room. Front desk help was very nice; we brought two dogs and were given a room on the end, which was good. We were on the second floor, which was a bit inconvenient (especially since one of our dogs has knee problems). There were large grassy areas on which to walk the dogs, which was nice. One thing I noticed was the flies: there must have been 15 large houseflies buzzing in our room - great entertainment for our younger dog, but kind of unsettling. The room was clean, but the carpet was worn (possibly the work of a previous dog visitor). I would go back if I had need of an inexpensive overnight place to stay in the St. Joe area.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wags2wishes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2011

Clean bedspread but faded
clean curtains but faded
floor stained and dirty
exterior broken cement,poorly fixed cement

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank christopher g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint Joseph hotels
0.3 mi away
Quality Suites St. Joseph
Quality Suites St. Joseph
#9 of 12 in Saint Joseph
173 reviews
0.1 mi away
Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - St. Joseph
3.4 mi away
Radisson St. Joseph
Radisson St. Joseph
#11 of 12 in Saint Joseph
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Days Inn St Joseph
Days Inn St Joseph
#8 of 12 in Saint Joseph
394 reviews
0.2 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites St. Joseph
Drury Inn & Suites St. Joseph
#1 of 12 in Saint Joseph
355 reviews
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites St Joseph
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 St. Joseph? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 St. Joseph

Address: 4021 Frederick Ave, Saint Joseph, MO 64506-3156
Location: United States > Missouri > Saint Joseph
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in Saint Joseph
Price Range: $55 - $67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 St. Joseph 2*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Motel 6 St Joseph is located near East Hills Shopping Center, Kemper Art Musuem, St Joseph Civic Arena, and Jesse James Home Museum. We offer Wi-Fi for a nominal fee, seasonal outdoor pool, coin laundry facility. All guest rooms have a modern look. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Motel 6 St. Joseph reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing