We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad for what it is...”
Review of Motel 6 St. Joseph

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Motel 6 St. Joseph
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in Saint Joseph
Omaha
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not bad for what it is...”
Reviewed September 21, 2013

We decided to stay at this hotel due to its low advertised rate - we were on our way back to Omaha from KC after a concert but at 1:30 in the morning felt a little too tired to drive another two hours.

The public areas that were open were dirty, run-down and smelled like smoke, which caused some worry about the state of the rooms. Our room, however, was like a hospital room in comparison. The linens were clean - the floors were linoleum instead of carpet, also clean. The walls were bright, probably recently painted. And, most importantly, even though the bed was not the very thick, padded mattress and piles of pillows we're used to from our stays at Marriott properties, it was very comfortable! We never turned on the TV, but noticed that there were jacks for gaming systems, HDMI cables, and USB cords - thought this was pretty cool for a super-economy hotel.

The only downside was that we could hear people in the next room talking and laughing and playing music at 4am - but it wasn't enough of a bother to call the front desk. Just a warning that the walls are going to be on the thin side, but when the heater/ac unit is running it will probably block everything out.

It was definitely not a bad stay for the few hours that we spent there, sleeping.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dmk127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    21
    20
    10
    17
See reviews for
18
14
9
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Chattaroy, Washington
Level Contributor
73 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013

The motel was right off of 29 and near several restaurants so the locations was a plus. The room was clean and nice for the money. A good value. The bed was comfortable and I enjoyed walking to the restaurant and having a drink without worries.

Room Tip: There is a swimming pool so you might want to be near it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paula F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheridan, Wyoming
Level Contributor
93 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2012

We stopped here late at night, with not many options to choose from. We were so tired that we didn't bother to check the room for cleanliness before checking in. Big mistake! The room was filthy, especially the bathroom. There was garbage on the floor from the previous guests. The sheets were dirty and stained. We decided to sleep on top of the bedding, which was just as filthy as the sheets. This was a non-smoking room that smelled like smoke. The bedding had cigarrette burns, and some sort of crusty stuff on it. We could hear the other guests coming and going all night. When we left the hotel the next morning, we had to step around garbage and spit that the guests upstairs had thrown down/spit on the sidewalk. What a nasty place!

Room Tip: Do not stay here!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank racemom2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Saint Joseph hotels

Lincoln, Nebraska
Level Contributor
52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2011

Not a bad experience, all in all - very basic room. Front desk help was very nice; we brought two dogs and were given a room on the end, which was good. We were on the second floor, which was a bit inconvenient (especially since one of our dogs has knee problems). There were large grassy areas on which to walk the dogs, which was nice. One thing I noticed was the flies: there must have been 15 large houseflies buzzing in our room - great entertainment for our younger dog, but kind of unsettling. The room was clean, but the carpet was worn (possibly the work of a previous dog visitor). I would go back if I had need of an inexpensive overnight place to stay in the St. Joe area.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wags2wishes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California
Level Contributor
42 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2011

Clean bedspread but faded
clean curtains but faded
floor stained and dirty
exterior broken cement,poorly fixed cement

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank christopher g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2011

well lets just start out by saying this was a surprise one there was blood on the door going in the hell hole . two the sheets were not changed there wassome sort of I really dont care to know and when my husband pulled the sheet up we saw bed bugs . we left dont stay there ever

Room Tip: dont stay there
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank huntergreene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cannelton,in
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2010

this was your basic motel 6.the room was very clean and the bathroom was spotless.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank john1861
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint Joseph hotels
0.2 mi away
Days Inn St Joseph
Days Inn St Joseph
#7 of 12 in Saint Joseph
368 reviews
0.0 mi away
Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - St. Joseph
0.3 mi away
Quality Suites St. Joseph
Quality Suites St. Joseph
#6 of 12 in Saint Joseph
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites St. Joseph
Drury Inn & Suites St. Joseph
#1 of 12 in Saint Joseph
325 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn St. Joseph
Hampton Inn St. Joseph
#4 of 12 in Saint Joseph
329 reviews
3.4 mi away
Radisson St. Joseph
Radisson St. Joseph
#9 of 12 in Saint Joseph
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 St. Joseph? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 St. Joseph

Property: Motel 6 St. Joseph
Address: 4021 Frederick Ave, Saint Joseph, MO 64506-3156
Location: United States > Missouri > Saint Joseph
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in Saint Joseph
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 St. Joseph 2*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Motel 6 St Joseph is located near East Hills Shopping Center, Kemper Art Musuem, St Joseph Civic Arena, and Jesse James Home Museum. We offer Wi-Fi for a nominal fee, seasonal outdoor pool, coin laundry facility. All guest rooms have a modern look. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, Motel-6 and Priceline so you can book your Motel 6 St. Joseph reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing