We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good quick sandwiches” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of McAlister's Deli

McAlister's Deli
Ranked #20 of 212 Restaurants in Saint Joseph
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Newtown, Connecticut
Level Contributor
124 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Good quick sandwiches”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2014

The sandwiches were awesome for the price. We had a late night working nearby and grabbing some sandwiches helped. Nothing we tried was bad. The nachos were good, as was the potatoes (which are huge).

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank JimmyW1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    13
    6
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Country Club
Level Contributor
118 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Eye-popping sandwich!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2014

Enjoyed dinner at this chain deli this evening -- not my first time, mind you, but very likely my favorite visit.

I ordered the New Yorker with a side of potato salad, and boy, oh boy, was that ever a good sandwich. For one, it was piled high -- no kidding -- with tasty, juicy, lean corned beef and pastrami on toasted rye. The Swiss cheese was melted just right and the brown mustard capped off the whole sandwich as a joy to eat.

Reminded me of my visits to some of the famed delis in New York City.

Oh, and the potato salad was swell -- just not quite enough of it for my preferences.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kenneth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Joseph, Missouri
Level Contributor
444 reviews
397 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“great sandwiches”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2014

the club sandwiches, soups and desserts are very tasty. always great service from the cashiers. quick take out service . the sweet tea is worth the drive.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank lmij
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2014 via mobile

It took a while to decide what to order because their menu is extensive. I finally decided on the Big Nasty. This was a huge amount of scrappy roast beef with cheese and topped with gravy served open faced on a yummy roll. My husband got a New Yorker. His also had lots of meat. The potato soup was delicious, but was a small serving. We were full and still brought home half of our sandwiches. We will definitely return.

Helpful?
Thank Sandy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, NE
Level Contributor
81 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Not up to par”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2013

After having a positive experience at another McAlister's Deli, we were please to find this one while passing through St. Joseph. We arrived around 2:00 pm to find no one staffing the registers. One gal was on the phone and ignored us. We waited and someone finally wandered out to take our order. My husband ordered a Reuben but was told they were out of pastrami and corned beef so he ordered something else. The gal was pushing a new chocolate dessert so we ordered one to share. There were a few other people in the dining room but there were many tables and booths that were not cleaned off. We finally found a clean table, sat down and were then told they were also out of the dessert.

Service was slow and when our meals were finally delivered, my husbands was fine. My salad was fresh and good but my chicken salad sandwich was on a burned croissant. Toasted does not mean black but this bun was burned on the inside and the burn was visible all around the edges. It should never have left the kitchen in this condition. I tried a small bite and all I tasted was burned bread. I was not able to find an employee in the dining room so I took my plate and walked up to the cash register area. One person was taking an order and a man (manger?) was counting money at the other register. Both ignored me. I finally saw an employee in the dining room, went back and flagged her down. I showed her the burned croissant and told her it was inedible. Her response was "do you want another one?" "Ah, yes." She brought me a new sandwich and that was also visibly burned. "is this one okay?" I said, "it is still burned", to which she responded with a shoulder shrug. At this point I was not sure what might be done to my food if I sent it back again. I ended up taking the bun off and eating the filling.

For us this restaurant had some problems providing the basics for customers: cleanliness, service, food quality. I would not return or recommend this location.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Changitah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed McAlister's Deli also viewed

 
Saint Joseph, MO
 

Been to McAlister's Deli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing