We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Treasure in St Joe”
Review of Bad Art Bistro

Bad Art Bistro
Reserve with OpenTable
Bad Art Bistro is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #42 of 214 Restaurants in Saint Joseph
Price range: $8 - $30
Cuisines: American, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Carbondale, Colorado
Level Contributor
40 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A Treasure in St Joe”
Reviewed April 27, 2013

Just booked a table for eight on a Friday night. I can't say how gracious they were to seat this large a party at the last minute. Food was excellent and the wine list a cut above what was to be expected for St Joe. Definitely a treasure to be supported.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fuddtractor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    25
    4
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Joseph, Missouri
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“I've dropped it a notch.”
Reviewed March 20, 2013

This used to be my favorite restaurant. I love the food, but I have to drop it's score because of the service. Oh, they're nice enough, but we've had some disappointments. Once we reserved a booth and when we arrived there was no booth to be had (isn't there a place where you can take a little note, phone answerer person?). That same evening I placed my salad fork in my salad bowl and the waiter told me I'd need to keep my fork. Seriously? I'm paying $80 for dinner and you don't have a clean fork back there for me? Staff training is needed to bring them up to par with the excellent food here.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BrendaKayB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
midwest
Level Contributor
35 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“What a treasure!”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

This place is fantastic! We have eaten here twice and the food was exceptional both times. The food is prepared fresh and tastes like it. This gem is the type of restaurant you expect on the west coast or in very large cities. The menu is exciting and reflects the cook's French background. They have an impressive wine list also.

I love it! One of my top ten restaurants in the US.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rrdem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Yummy food!”
Reviewed February 22, 2013

My husband and I were passing through on our way from Omaha to Kansas City and decided to stop for dinner. Everything we got was absolutely delicious and the service was great! We highly recommend the flat iron steak, it was probably one of the best steaks either of us have ever had. The Osso Bucco was delicious as well! It was a bit on the pricy side for dinner but worth every cent! We will be back!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank liljbeanem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Joseph, Missouri, United States
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Wanted to love it”
Reviewed February 15, 2013

I saw a number of reviews of Bad Art Bistro so thought it would be great for my husband and I to try. We made online reservations and upon arrival were seated immediately. However, we noticed that two larger parties had been seated just before we were, so in a small restaurant that usually is not a good sign! I have mixed feelings about this bistro: 1)Between each course, we had a LONG wait for our food-other parties that arrived after us were served and left before we did; 2)the atmosphere was quirky and fun to look at the bad art on walls; 3)the appetizer was the snails, which were served in a neat pastry basket and were delicious; 4)the salad and the soup were inedible because they were so salty; 5)the lamb oso buco and the hanger steak were fabulous; 6)the waitress was stressed and appeared overworked and didn't seem to have much time to check on us. Start to finish we were held hostage nearly 2 1/2 hours--just not what were were expecting when we headed out for dinner that evening.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Gayle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bad Art Bistro also viewed

 
Saint Joseph, MO
 
Saint Joseph, MO
 

Been to Bad Art Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing