We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a treasure!”
Review of Bad Art Bistro

Bad Art Bistro
Ranked #29 of 217 Restaurants in Saint Joseph
Price range: $8 - $30
Cuisines: International
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
midwest
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“What a treasure!”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

This place is fantastic! We have eaten here twice and the food was exceptional both times. The food is prepared fresh and tastes like it. This gem is the type of restaurant you expect on the west coast or in very large cities. The menu is exciting and reflects the cook's French background. They have an impressive wine list also.

I love it! One of my top ten restaurants in the US.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rrdem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    28
    4
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Omaha, Nebraska
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Yummy food!”
Reviewed February 22, 2013

My husband and I were passing through on our way from Omaha to Kansas City and decided to stop for dinner. Everything we got was absolutely delicious and the service was great! We highly recommend the flat iron steak, it was probably one of the best steaks either of us have ever had. The Osso Bucco was delicious as well! It was a bit on the pricy side for dinner but worth every cent! We will be back!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank liljbeanem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Joseph, Missouri, United States
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Wanted to love it”
Reviewed February 15, 2013

I saw a number of reviews of Bad Art Bistro so thought it would be great for my husband and I to try. We made online reservations and upon arrival were seated immediately. However, we noticed that two larger parties had been seated just before we were, so in a small restaurant that usually is not a good sign! I have mixed feelings about this bistro: 1)Between each course, we had a LONG wait for our food-other parties that arrived after us were served and left before we did; 2)the atmosphere was quirky and fun to look at the bad art on walls; 3)the appetizer was the snails, which were served in a neat pastry basket and were delicious; 4)the salad and the soup were inedible because they were so salty; 5)the lamb oso buco and the hanger steak were fabulous; 6)the waitress was stressed and appeared overworked and didn't seem to have much time to check on us. Start to finish we were held hostage nearly 2 1/2 hours--just not what were were expecting when we headed out for dinner that evening.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Gayle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Revoke the excellence certificate”
Reviewed January 19, 2013

Yesterday was our first time at the Bad Art Bistro - and the last. The first thing I notices was a very prominently displayed Trip Advisor Certificate of Excellence - by the time we left, I was considering starting a petition to have that title revoked. The horrendous series of debacles went like this:
1. the napkin folded into my water glass was dirty - the waitress offered another napkin but left the water glass and I am guessing expected me to drink out of it - I restricted myself to the other drink I ordered that came in another glass
2. we were the only interracial couple in the restaurant and we waited for an hour to get our food - in the interim, the rest of the all-white clientele who filed in *after us* got served their dinner - we have been treated to racism of this type way too often to not notice it
3. one of the food items we wanted was not available and it took a good ten minutes to get word that they ran out
4. our waitress was particularly difficult to get hold of - if we needed something, we really had to work to get her attention
5. because of the very slow service we were receiving (which seemed reserved for us because others were having dinner at a much different pace and leaving before we got anywhere) we did not have time for dessert
6. when the check finally came, it still had the charge for the food item we would have liked but could not get because they only had it on the menu and not in the kitchen

The food was good. It was not excellent. It in no way came even close to deserving the rave reviews we have been hearing about this place. And seriously, how in the world did this place get that excellence certificate??????

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank still_nomadic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawnee, Kansas
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great meal!”
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Can't express enough how good the food is and loved looking at all the BAD ART. The service was great too!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank nmshanahan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bad Art Bistro also viewed

Saint Joseph, MO
 

Been to Bad Art Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing