We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty darn good for small-town MO.”
Review of Bad Art Bistro

Bad Art Bistro
Ranked #36 of 215 Restaurants in Saint Joseph
Price range: $8 - $30
Cuisines: International
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Pretty darn good for small-town MO.”
Reviewed August 10, 2012

This little bistro served up some good American cuisine. The bread and salad was delish, and the tempura veggies I had were delectable. The halibut (a special) was a little chewy, but what can you expect from a fish that has traveled over a thousand miles to get to my plate? Service was food and the raspberry-flavored rye-whiskey based cocktail was admirable. Kudos to the owner and the staff for keeping this gem open in a town of chains, where, when I asked my B&B innkeeper where to go I dinner, she suggested Wild Wings.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SarahLandon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    26
    4
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
“Superb Meal”
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Bad Art was both a surprise and a real find. It is an absolutely fabulous French restaurant, in the middle of St Joe. We all four enjoyed a meal as good as any we had eaten, including in Paris. The service and atmosphere were top notch! If you are the area, do not miss this one!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mceaves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonesboro, Arkansas
Level Contributor
64 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Excellent Food, Interesting Atmosphere, Service Nervous”
Reviewed July 6, 2012

We ordered the spring rolls, quail, and seared scallops along with a 1995 Chardonnay. The wine was full of flavor and color but was sweet for a Chard. The spring rolls, quail, and scallops were extraordinary. The atmosphere was fun and the art was funky. The servers were rushing around so much, they made us nervous. One of them repeatedly bumped into my wife's chair. Our server attempted to be nice, but obviously seemed rushed and uncomfortable all night.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KPre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
105 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Best food in town”
Reviewed June 21, 2012

Extraordinarily good food. The carrot soup was exceptionally good. The king salmon was perfectly done--moist, delicate, flavorful. Good service. As the name says, the art on the walls isn't nearly as interesting as the meal.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank impatiens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A different experience from a chain.”
Reviewed June 15, 2012 via mobile

If you want gourmet food, a different experience from the chains, something a little funky, and smart casual go here. We r vegetarian and there are great options. In fact after eating here a few times the owner told us to call 24 hrs ahead and he would buy and prepare something new and different for us! Is that not good service. Most unusual for a this town and a welcome addition.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ken S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bad Art Bistro also viewed

 
Saint Joseph, MO
 

Been to Bad Art Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing