We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Poor customer service - mgmt”

Pappy's Grill And Pub
Ranked #17 of 213 Restaurants in Saint Joseph
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Saint Joseph, Missouri
1 review
“Poor customer service - mgmt”
Reviewed November 26, 2011

I had gone here several times and thought the staff was friendly and attentive. We enjoyed our food and always went back at least twice a week, usually 4 or 5 from work at different times stopped by here for lunch. On a recent lunch visit, I found the owner to be rude. We had just sat down, he gave us ash trays. When ask why the ash trays, he said we always made a mess. What mess was he talking about, we wondered? We had been asked on occasions to move to another table after being seated, so other people could have our table. Pappy"s sin't the only place that serves up a meal, and not smokey smell. We wont be back.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JimB475
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    9
    2
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rockford, Illinois
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Not bad food but be aware that Missouri is NOT smoke free!”
Reviewed March 29, 2011

The food was pretty good, and the place is OK for a neighborhood bar. But it smells of smoke because Missouri is still not smoke free -- COME ON. I wouldn't go back because of the smoke. They do have smoke-free Monday and Thursday at certain hours. Big deal.

  • Visited March 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank IdRatherBeBicycling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocky Mountains Usa
Level Contributor
269 reviews
168 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Great food in a friendly neighborhood atmosphere”
Reviewed January 25, 2011

We enjoyed excellent tenderloin sandwiches at a wonderful, old time neighborhood restaurant. The food was great, at very reasonable prices and with friendly customer service which brought us back several times during our two week stay in this nice community.

  • Visited January 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Stumpy60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Joseph, Missouri
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Food & Deals”
Reviewed January 4, 2011

My fiancee and I wanted to try somewhere new, so we chose Pappy's Grill. We went in the evening on a Tuesday night which is also known as Tenderloin Tuesday. The deal is buy one tenderloin get one free, and you get a side (fries, cole slaw or potato salad). The tenderloins are excellent, and I'm not a big fan of tenderloins, the potato salad was also really good. My fiancee ordered the Chipotle Burger, which he said was really good, as well as the curly fries he got as a side. Try the breaded mushrooms, they're beer battered and pretty yummy. Oh and if you like tea, order an iced tea, its pretty good and comes in a mini pitcher. We will be returning many more times, they have themed nights I've heard!

  • Visited January 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kelseylynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamestown, NC
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great neighborhood bar”
Reviewed October 10, 2010

Great atmosphere, great food and great service. The staff was friendly, greeting you when you enter and thanking you as you left...but not like the fake greeting and closings you get at some franchise chain restaurants. The tenderloin sandwich is excellent. You can't go wrong with this restaurant.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Gdogg1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pappy's Grill And Pub also viewed

 

Been to Pappy's Grill And Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing