We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Saint Joseph
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Shakespeare Chateau Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 3 Saint Joseph B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed February 1, 2014

I agree with all the other great reviews. Our three nights here have been truly magical. Isobel is a fantastic host, whose love of this mansion is evident from her meticulous restoration to fabulous breakfasts. Do yourself a favor and stay in this city retreat!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TLenert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isobel M, Owner at Shakespeare Chateau Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2014

The International Superstars of Comedy and Magic was in St. Joseph this past weekend - and what a fantastic show it was! The performances were, from start to finish, outstanding and supremely professional, and the beautiful Missouri Theatre venue was SOLD OUT!!! The Shakespeare Chateau was proud to host the cast members, and I was delighted to meet all of them. All of us here in St. Joseph hope they'll be back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (316)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

211 - 217 of 316 reviews

Reviewed January 27, 2014

Wonderful bed and breakfast in a very historic area of St Joseph. We were pleasantly surprised by the tour we got of the house when we checked in and overall very happy with the amenities, cleanliness and of course the breakfast.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isobel M, Owner at Shakespeare Chateau Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2014

As a first-time B&B Owner/Innkeeper, I'm thrilled when my guests tell me they were pleased with their stay! My mission is to deliver a unique and satisfying guest experience in an uncommonly beautiful setting. Thank you for staying, and for posting your review on TripAdvisor. I hope you'll be back to visit soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2014

Do yourself a favor. Stay here. The exquisite taste of Victorian splendor and grandeur awaits. Great breakfast and warm hospitality. The rooms are quite comfortable and filled with period furniture and accents. St. Joseph has a marvelous story to tell. The Shakespeare is a very unique and charming way to get the best seat in the house as the tale of the town unfolds before you.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pixyjazz66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isobel M, Owner at Shakespeare Chateau Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2014

Saint Joseph has a fabulously rich history that intrigues and fascinates visitors from around the country and around the world. The beautiful Shakespeare Chateau at 809 Hall Street was built for Col. Nathan Phipps Ogden and his wife Elmarine (Pence) Ogden in 1885, at the height of the Victorian passion known as the aesthetic movement. Visitors today enjoy the museum-quality original interior features - 47 stained glass windows, carved and paneled woodwork, aesthetic tiles and hardware, and much more. We hope you'll visit soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2014

We had an opportunity to spend a nite in St. Joseph, MO to attend a function.. and thought a B&B would be a great experience in this very old, historic town. We found the Shakespeare Chateau on the internet and were intrigued by the elegance of the old mansion.

Our host was an amazing person, Isobella, with more energy than I could certainly muster to be renovating the place and still offer such a wonderful B&B experience. The rooms were well appointed, and the essential elements of the mansion meticulously restored to their original splendor. What a beautiful place in such an historic setting. Would go back .. and probably will!

Room Tip: The Romeo and Juliet room is the larger of the three.. all are very nice, but this one is especially...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OPTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isobel M, Owner at Shakespeare Chateau Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2014

I'm always pleased when folks from right here in the MidWest find the Shakespeare Chateau and Saint Joseph, and enjoy their first visit to this historic town. We have so many things for tourists and visitors to see and do, and a wealth of glorious architecture for sight-seers. I hope you'll visit again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

My Wife and I absolutely loved our stay at the Shakespeare Chateau for our honeymoon night. The Verona Suite was beautiful, clean, and comfortable. We couldn't have asked for more. Isabelle, the hostess, is wonderful and made sure we had everything we needed. We were able to check-in, relax, and later go out for dinner. There is a convenient late night entry for coming in after hours.

We were able to select a time for breakfast in the morning and anticipated something simple and plain. Our breakfast couldn't have been farther from that. Isabelle had personally cooked and hand prepared our breakfast (she does this for all the guests) and it was completely unexpected. She prepared stuffed french toast, fresh fruit, juice, and coffee. Wow.

The bed and breakfast is very accommodating and is in a wonderful location. Downtown is two minutes away, The North Shoppes 12 minutes, and the Belt Highway is only 8 minutes.

We will be staying again and are looking forward to it.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zach R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isobel M, Owner at Shakespeare Chateau Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2014

The Shakespeare Chateau offers honeymoon couples a luxurious, romantic getaway. Zach and his bride enjoyed the Verona Suite - complete with luxury jetted jacuzzi tub, king size pillow-top bed, and incomparable art and antique furnishings. Also a favorite for honeymooners is our Romeo & Juliet Suite, and just as popular, the Twelfth Night Room. Check our website for details on all of our rooms, and watch for an announcement this spring of availability of our newest room, "As You Like It."

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

As B&B operators ourselves, we always enjoy having a chance to visit other B&Bs. We were in St. Joseph by accident, having to stop driving due to weather. The next morning we opted to explore the town, and we saw that the Shakespeare Chateau offered tours. We called, and Isobel graciously encouraged us to stop by. What a place! Opulence and history emanates from every corner! Isobel is well on her way to restoring the home after a period of neglect, and you have a rare opportunity stay in a magnificent home as well as see a “behind-the-scenes” look at the impressiveness of the rooms. It is well worth a visit, and we wish Isobel ongoing success in her operation.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Peter T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isobel M, Owner at Shakespeare Chateau Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2014

Thanks for taking time to stop at the Shakespeare Chateau while you were visiting in Saint Joseph. I'm always delighted to meet other Innkeepers and "trade notes" about the business. Best of everything in 2014!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2013

A historical home that has been transformed back to the beauty it originally had over 100 years ago. We spent a night in the Twelfth Night Suite and it was wonderful; the ambiance, the details that are in every corner show all the work Isobel has done to bring this place back to its original splendor.

Make sure to take the time and have Isobel give you a tour of the house... there is so much history.

And of course, breakfast was delicious.

It is definitely a place that we will visit again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hhflowersm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isobel M, Owner at Shakespeare Chateau Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2013

I'm always pleased to tell my guests about the history of the Shakespeare Chateau, of the Hall Street Historic District, and of Saint Joseph. This lovely home, built in 1885 by Col. Nathan Ogden and his wife, Elmarine Pence Ogden, is one of the finest mansions in the midwest, and retains so many of the original features. I am so happy to be able to live and work here, and to restore this American treasure to be a destination for travelers and a venue for memorable events. Thank you for visiting!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint Joseph hotels
2.9 mi away
Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - St. Joseph
3.1 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites St. Joseph
Drury Inn & Suites St. Joseph
#1 of 12 in Saint Joseph
355 reviews
0.6 mi away
Radisson St. Joseph
Radisson St. Joseph
#11 of 12 in Saint Joseph
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites St Joseph
2.9 mi away
Hampton Inn St. Joseph
Hampton Inn St. Joseph
#4 of 12 in Saint Joseph
357 reviews
3.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites St. Joseph
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shakespeare Chateau Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shakespeare Chateau Bed & Breakfast

Address: 809 Hall St, Saint Joseph, MO 64501-2139
Location: United States > Missouri > Saint Joseph
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Saint Joseph
Price Range: $149 - $199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The majestic Shakespeare Chateau was built in 1885 by Nathan Ogden when St. Joseph Missouri was known as "The Queen of the River Cities." High atop a bluff looking down across the city toward the Missouri River, 809 Hall Street is one of several mansions in the Hall Street Historic District known locally as "Millionaires' Row." You'll enjoy meeting the friendly innkeeper, Isobel, as she takes you through the palatial interior. You'll marvel at 47 (yes, 47!) Original stained glass windows, carved cherrywood, mahogany, and walnut mantles, and of course, a bust of the Bard himself above the grand fireplace in the front foyer. But most of all, you'll enjoy our comfortable sleeping rooms, each one beautifully appointed with fabulous art and antiques and luxurious linens. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing